book cover of The Seven Or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna

The Seven Or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
When I tell you Stella Fortuna was a special girl, I hope you aren't thinking small-town special. Other people would underestimate Stella Fortuna during her long life, and not one of them didn't end up regretting it.

A sprawling 20th century saga of a young woman with a fire inside her which cannot be put out, for fans of Elena Ferrante, Captain Correlli's Mandolin, All the Light We Cannot See and Brooklyn.

By turns a family saga, a ghost story, and a coming-of-cranky-old-age tale, Juliet Grames' The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna lays bare the costs of migration and patriarchal values but also of the love and devotion that can sustain a family through generations.

The audiobook tells the story of Stella Fortuna, born into rural poverty in a mountainside Calabrian village in the early 20th century. After being abandoned by their father, who had left to seek his fortune in L'America, Stella grew up with her beloved mother, Assunta, her brother, Giuseppe, and her sister, Tina. Tough, vivacious, and fiercely loyal, the sisters were always inseparable, going on to support each other through immigration, marriage, children, loss - and the seven (or eight, depending how you count them) near-death experiences Stella suffered throughout her life.

Beginning in their childhood with the time she was burned by frying oil ('the eggplant attack'), Assunta became convinced that her eldest daughter was cursed, a victim of the Evil Eye or a malevolent ghost. But after Stella woke up from 'The Accident', an eighth brush with death which robbed her of a large portion of her memories, it was Tina whom she refused to speak to. Now, despite living across the street from each other, the sisters have not spoken in 30 years.

Determined to solve the mystery of this falling out, it's up to the family historian to unravel the life and deaths of Stella Fortuna, to connect the inexplicable dots in her dramatic story and to suggest, finally, redemption of the battle-scarred and misunderstood woman who has lived her life with a fire inside her which could not be put out.

Genre: General Fiction

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Juliet Grames's The Seven Or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna

Hardback Editions

May 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna
Author(s): Juliet Grames
ISBN: 1-4736-8627-X / 978-1-4736-8627-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna: A Novel
Author(s): Juliet Grames
ISBN: 0-06-286282-0 / 978-0-06-286282-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ecco
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna
Author(s): Juliet Grames
ISBN: 1-4736-8629-6 / 978-1-4736-8629-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


May 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna
Author(s): Juliet Grames
ISBN: 1-4736-8628-8 / 978-1-4736-8628-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna: A Novel
Author(s): Juliet Grames
ISBN: 0-06-291163-5 / 978-0-06-291163-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperLuxe
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna: A Novel
Author(s): Juliet Grames
ISBN: 0-06-293964-5 / 978-0-06-293964-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ecco
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

May 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna
Author(s): Juliet Grames
ISBN: 1-982657-67-7 / 978-1-982657-67-3
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna: Library Edition
Author(s): Juliet Grames
ISBN: 1-982657-66-9 / 978-1-982657-66-6
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2019 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna
Author(s): Juliet Grames
ISBN: 1-982657-68-5 / 978-1-982657-68-0
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna
Author(s): Juliet Grames
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon   


May 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna
Author(s): Juliet Grames
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna
Author(s): Juliet Grames
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna: A Novel
Author(s): Juliet Grames
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


May 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna: A Novel
Author(s): Juliet Grames
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

May 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna
Author(s): Juliet Grames
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna: A Novel
Author(s): Juliet Grames
Publisher: Ecco
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA