book cover of The Hearts of Horses

The Hearts of Horses

(2007)
A novel by

 
 
A breakout novel from the author of The Jump-Off Creek, the heartwarming story of a determined young woman with a gift for “gentling” wild horses. In the winter of 1917, when a young woman shows up at his doorstep looking for work breaking horses, George Bliss hires her on. Many of his regular hands are off fighting the war, and he glimpses, beneath her showy rodeo garb, a shy but feisty girl with a serious knowledge of horses. So begins the irresistible tale of nineteen-year-old Martha Lessen, a female horse whisperer trying to make a go of it in a man's world. At the time, it was thought that the only way to break a horse was to “buck the wild out of him,” but when the ranchers in this remote county of Eastern Oregon witness Martha talking in sweet tones to horses believed beyond repair -- and getting miraculous results -- she earns a place of respect in the community. Along the way, she helps a family save their horses when their wagon slides into a ravine; she gentles a horse for a dying man -- a last gift to his young son; she clashes with a hired hand who is abusing horses in unspeakable ways; and gradually, she comes to feel enveloped by a sense of belonging and family she's never had before. With the elegant sweetness of Plainsong and a pitch-perfect sense of western life reminiscent of Annie Dillard, The Hearts of Horses is a remarkable story about the connections between and among people and animals and how they touch one another in the most unexpected and profound ways. Fans of Kent Haruf and Leif Enger will fall adore this gentle, lovely novel and bookseller fans will be thrilled to handsell the first Molly Gloss hardcover to be published by Houghton.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Molly Gloss's The Hearts of Horses

Hardback Editions

August 2010 : UK Hardback

Title: The Hearts Of Horses
Author(s): Molly Gloss
ISBN: 1-4448-0331-X / 978-1-4448-0331-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ulverscroft
Availability: Amazon UK   


April 2008 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Hearts of Horses (Platinum Readers Circle (Center Point))
Author(s): Molly Gloss
ISBN: 1-60285-171-9 / 978-1-60285-171-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Center Point Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2007 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Hearts of Horses
Author(s): Molly Gloss
ISBN: 0-618-79990-7 / 978-0-618-79990-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

June 2014 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Hearts of Horses (Bello)
Author(s): Molly Gloss
ISBN: 1-4472-6634-X / 978-1-4472-6634-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Pan
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2009 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Hearts of Horses
Author(s): Molly Gloss
ISBN: 0-330-46950-9 / 978-0-330-46950-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Pan
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


December 2008 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Hearts of Horses
Author(s): Molly Gloss
ISBN: 0-547-08575-3 / 978-0-547-08575-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Mariner Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

June 2009 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Hearts of Horses: A Novel
Author(s): Molly Gloss
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2009 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Hearts of Horses: A Novel
Author(s): Molly Gloss
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2009 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Hearts of Horses: A Novel
Author(s): Molly Gloss
ISBN: 1-4001-1196-X / 978-1-4001-1196-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2009 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Hearts of Horses: A Novel
Author(s): Molly Gloss
ISBN: 1-4001-4196-6 / 978-1-4001-4196-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2009 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Hearts of Horses: A Novel
Author(s): Molly Gloss
ISBN: 1-4001-6196-7 / 978-1-4001-6196-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

August 2009 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Hearts of Horses
Author(s): Molly Gloss
Publisher: Pan
Availability: Amazon UK   


December 2008 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Hearts of Horses
Author(s): Molly Gloss
Publisher: Mariner Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA