book cover of The Snow Song
Added by 9 members
 

The Snow Song

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
‘A darkly scattered fable told with beauty, magic, love but also heart-wrenching realism … Fans of The Familiars and The Binding will love this’ MY WEEKLY

‘It’s fabulous, we should all have copies’ Simon Mayo, Scala Radio

‘A glorious love story, a spellbinding fable’ Adele Parks

Women imprisoned by superstition, chained by guilt.
 
Perched on a mountain in a land of ancient forests is a village, rife with secrets. Cut off from the outside world it is run by the elders, men to whom tradition is all.


Edith lives alone with her alcoholic father who is forcing her to marry the village butcher. But she is in love with a shepherd who promised to return to her.

As the village becomes isolated in a sea of snow, Edith loses her power of speech. And it is this enchantment that will have far-reaching consequences, not only for Edith but for the whole village.

‘An enchanting and timeless feminist fable’ Mail on Sunday

‘A gorgeous love story … with more than a touch of magical realism’ Independent



Genre: Fantasy

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Sally Gardner's The Snow Song


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors