book cover of The Queen\'s Mary
Added by 1 of our members

The Queen's Mary

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
'If you read one historical novel this year, make it THE QUEEN'S MARY by Sarah Gristwood. It's a superb fictional rendering of a difficult subject. I could not put it down.' - bestselling author Alison Weir

Mary Seton is lady-in-waiting to the legendary Mary Queen of Scots.

Torn between her own desires and her duty to serve her mistress, she is ultimately drawn into her Queen's web of passion and royal treachery - and must play her part in the game of thrones between Mary and Elizabeth I.

Must she choose between survival, and sharing the same fate as the woman she has served, loyally and lovingly, since a child?

The Queen's Mary is an engaging and insightful novel, which allows the reader to peek behind the curtain of history - and see into the heart and mind of a forgotten woman who helped shape the Tudor era.

For fans of Phillipa Gregory, Alison Weir and The Tudors.

Praise for The Queen's Mary

'Sarah Gristwood breathes new life into the deeply tragic story of Mary Queen of Scots by telling it through the perspective of the invisible woman who sacrificed her life to serve her.' Elizabeth Freemantle, bestselling author of The Girl in the Glass Tower

'I really enjoyed this book. I have never read anything about Mary Seton (or the other Marys), and I found this book to be not only a touching and insightful look into what it must have been like to be at Queen Mary's side throughout her life, but beautifully drawn historically.' - Kate Grannis, author of Love's Vows

Praise for Sarah Gristwood

'Vivacious and absorbing ... Gristwood is a mistress of the trivial detail that enthrals' - The Sunday Times

'Well researched and stimulating' - Evening Standard

'Fresh, vivid and beautifully detailed . . . Much of the narrative is high melodrama, and Gristwood conveys it with exactly the right mixture of suspense and sympathy.' - Independent

'Pacey and highly readable' - Mail on Sunday

After leaving Oxford, Sarah Gristwood began work as a journalist, appearing in most of the UK's leading newspapers. Turning to history, she wrote bestselling biographies and works of fiction and nonfiction, predominantly focused on the sixteenth, seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. A regular media commentator on royal and historical affairs, Sarah was one of the team providing Radio 4's live coverage of the royal wedding; and has since spoken on royal and historical stories from the royal babies to the reburial of Richard III for national television and radio. Shortlisted for both the Marsh Biography Award and the Ben Pimlott Prize for Political Writing, she is a Fellow of the RSA, and an Honorary Patron of Historic Royal Palaces.

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Other Queen
(Plantagenet and Tudor Novels, book 15)
Philippa Gregory

Used availability for Sarah Gristwood's The Queen's Mary

Hardback Editions

September 2017 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Queen's Mary: In the Shadows of Power...
Author(s): Sarah Gristwood
ISBN: 1-911445-54-5 / 978-1-911445-54-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Endeavour Ink
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

April 2018 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Queen's Mary: In the Shadows of Power...
Author(s): Sarah Gristwood
ISBN: 1-980847-05-3 / 978-1-980847-05-2
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Queen's Mary
Author(s): Sarah Gristwood
ISBN: 1-911445-46-4 / 978-1-911445-46-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Endeavour Ink
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

March 2018 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Queen's Mary: In the Shadows of Power...
Author(s): Sarah Gristwood
Publisher: Sharpe Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA