book cover of No Beauties or Monsters
Added by 5 members
 

No Beauties or Monsters

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
A desert full of mystery. A girl who sees things she shouldn’t. Desperate to unlock the secrets of Twentynine Palms, I raced through this book!” —Erin A. Craig, New York Times bestselling author of House of Salt and Sorrows
 
For fans of Stranger Things and Veronica Mars comes a new YA mystery about a girl whose desperate search for her missing friend unearths dark secrets, preternatural threats, and a truth that could ultimately tear her family, friends, and town apart.


Welcome to Twentynine Palms, where nothing is what it seems.
 


Rylie hasn't been back to the military base in Twentynine Palms since her father died. She left a lot of memories out there, buried in the sand of the Mojave Desert. Memories about her dad, her old friends Nathan and Lily, and most of all, her enigmatic grandfather, a man who cut ties with Rylie’s family before he passed away. But her mom’s new work assignment has sent their family to Twentynine Palms again, and now, Rylie’s in the one place she never wanted to return to.
 
At least her old friends are happy to welcome her home. Well, some of them, anyway. It turns out Lily is gone, vanished into the desert. To make matters worse, there are whispers around town of a mysterious killer on the loose.
 
But it isn’t just Twentynine Palms that feels frightening—there’s something wrong with Rylie, too. She’s seeing things she can’t explain. Visions of monstrous creatures that stalk the night.
 
Somehow, it all seems to be tied to her grandfather and the family cabin he left behind. Rylie wants the truth, but she doesn’t know if she can trust herself. Are the monsters in her head really out there? Or could it be that the deadliest thing in the desert . . . is Rylie herself?


Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Praise for this book

"A desert full of mystery. A girl who sees things she shouldn't. Desperate to unlock the secrets of Twentynine Palms, I raced through this book!" - Erin A Craig

"Mind-bending and wholly engrossing--I couldn't read it fast enough!" - Kayla Olson

"A feast of mystery and intrigue, No Beauties or Monsters explores the way in which our lives twine around infinite possibilities. To read it is to be caught between a dream and a nightmare." - Parker Peevyhouse

"Goedjen's exquisitely crafted new novel unfolds with lucid imagination and intriguing surprise, leading down a twisted path that does not disappoint." - Daria Polatin

"Like its Mojave Desert setting, No Beauties or Monsters is mysterious, bizarre, and utterly unique. Brimming with family secrets, disturbing murders, and a main character whose own memories can't be trusted, this book is tense from the startling first chapter until the puzzle pieces finally--chillingly--fall into place." - Chelsea Sedoti

"Sears with uncanny malice from the very first page--and then quickly explodes into a blistering fever dream. Insidiously beautiful." - Krystal Sutherland

"A mind-bending and atmospheric mystery that kept me up all night." - Kara Thomas

"No Beauties or Monsters is brilliantly plotted, atmospheric and taut. Goedjen keeps you turning pages, along for the ride with the beautifully-drawn Rylie as she searches for answers just out of grasp." - Marit Weisenberg

"This book throws you off kilter, plunging you into a strange place where you start to question not just what you're reading, but also your own reality. It's an eerie and unforgettable read with all the strange, pale beauty of a desert sunset. I loved the story, the characters, and the otherworldly setting, and will never look at Joshua Tree the same again." - Kate Williams


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Tara Goedjen's No Beauties or Monsters


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors