book cover of Ruby Red Herring
Added by 1 of our members

Ruby Red Herring

(2021)
(The first book in the Avery Ayers Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
In this Avery Ayers Antique Mystery series debut, perfect for fans of Ellery Adams and Jane K. Cleland, an antiques appraiser hunts a missing gem while probing her parents' deaths.

After her parents' deaths, Avery Ayers takes over the family business, Antiquities & Artifacts Appraised, from the home office in Lilac Grove and a branch in Manhattan. Now living back at home with her younger sister Tilly and their newly moved-in, eccentric Aunt Midge and her Afghan hound, Avery's life is filled with jewels, tapestries, paintings, and rare finds. But their world is rocked when Avery learns that the theft of a priceless ruby may be connected to her parents' demise.

The trouble starts when the Museum of Antiquities hires Avery to appraise a rare, resplendent ruby. It bears a striking similarity to a solitary stone in the museum's prized Xiang Dynasty bejeweled dragon medallion exhibit, which has long been missing one of its ruby eyes. Now, Avery and her colleagues--ostentatious Sir Robert Lane and fatherly Micah Abbott--suspect they may have the missing gem. But facets of the case remain cloudy. Security guard Art Smith is always underfoot but is not what he appears. Another body turns up connected to the appraisal. And Avery receives mysterious notes that begin to put her life in danger.

Avery enlists possible ally Art's help in cutting the list of suspects who might have polished off her parents and swiped the jewel. Was it art collector Oliver Renell? Curator Nate Brennan? Acquisitions Liaison Francesca Giolitti? Actor Tyler Chadwick? Was the crime impersonal or perpetrated by someone all too close to Avery? If she can't find the culprit, lovely Lilac Grove may be the setting for Avery's own death.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Unkindness of Ravens
(Greer Hogan Mystery, book 1)
M E Hilliard
thumb
Cold Wind
(Alaska Wild Mysteries, book 2)
Paige Shelton
thumb
Tea & Treachery
(Tea by the Sea Mystery, book 1)
Vicki Delany
thumb
Death in the Family
(Shana Merchant, book 1)
Tessa Wegert

Hardback Editions

June 2021 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Ruby Red Herring: An Avery Ayers Antique Mystery
Author(s): Tracy Gardner
ISBN: 1-64385-659-6 / 978-1-64385-659-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

June 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Ruby Red Herring: An Avery Ayers Antique Mystery
Author(s): Tracy Gardner
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU