book cover of Up From Freedom

Up From Freedom

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
For fans of Colson Whitehead, James McBride, Yaa Gyasi, and Lawrence Hill, Up from Freedom is a powerful and emotional novel about the dangers that arise when we stay silent in the face of prejudice or are complicit in its development.

As a young man, Virgil Moody vowed he would never be like his father, he would never own slaves. When he moves from his father's plantation in Savannah to New Orleans, he takes with him Annie, a tiny woman with sharp eyes and a sharper tongue, who he is sure would not survive life on the plantation. She'll be much safer with him, away from his father's cruelty. And when he discovers Annie's pregnancy, already a few months along, he is all the more certain that he made the right decision.

As the years pass, the divide between Moody's assumptions and Annie's reality widens ever further. Moody even comes to think of Annie as his wife and Lucas as their son. Of course, they are not. As Annie reminds him, in moments of anger, she and Moody will never be equal. She and her son are enslaved. When their "family" breaks apart in the most brutal and tragic way, and Lucas flees the only life he's ever known, Moody must ask himself whether he has become the man he never wanted to be - but is he willing to hear the answer?

Stretching from the war-torn banks of the Rio Brazos in Texas to the muddy waters of Freedom, Indiana, Moody travels through a country on the brink of civil war, relentlessly searching for Lucas and slowly reconciling his past sins with his hopes for the future. When he meets Tamsey, a former slave, and her family trying to escape the reach of the Fugitive Slave Act, Moody sees an opportunity for redemption. But the world is on the cusp of momentous change, and though some things may be forgotten, nothing is ever really forgiven.



Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Wayne Grady's Up From Freedom

Paperback Editions

August 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Up From Freedom
Author(s): Wayne Grady
ISBN: 0-385-68511-4 / 978-0-385-68511-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

August 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Up from Freedom
Author(s): Wayne Grady
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Availability: Amazon CA   


August 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Up from Freedom
Author(s): Wayne Grady
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

August 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Up From Freedom
Author(s): Wayne Grady
Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU