book cover of The Golden Sisters
Added by 1 of our members

The Golden Sisters

(2015)
(The second book in the Martha's Girls series)
A novel by

 
 
Martha's girls return in a poignant wartime story of love lost ... and found. A moving saga that takes the reader to the very heart of a close-knit, fiery, loving family - perfect for fans of Maureen Lee, Mary Larkin and Pam Weaver.

It's 1941 and German bombs are falling on Belfast. Martha's girls face danger, hardship and difficult decisions.

Irene, the eldest of the sisters, is struggling with the constraints of married life, until a chance meeting forces her to choose between romance and reality.

Pat, intelligent and sensitive, is working in Stormont alongside William Kennedy. As their relationship deepens, she feels that real happiness could be within her grasp.

Peggy, impulsive and glamorous, is thrilled when the charismatic Devlin offers her a job with the dance band at the Plaza Ballroom. But she soon sees his darker side...

Sheila, the youngest, is blossoming into a young woman, though her family seem intent on treating her like a child. When will they accept her for the grown-up she is?

Together, they are the Golden Sisters, singing their way to victory in concert halls and army camps. But the war is taking their lives in unexpected directions and Martha will need all her strength to help her girls find their way through these turbulent times.

Genre: Sagas

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Alrene Hughes's The Golden Sisters

Paperback Editions

April 2001 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Golden Sisters: The Heartwarming Sequel to Martha's Girls
Author(s): Alrene Hughes
ISBN: 0-85640-939-1 / 978-0-85640-939-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Blackstaff Press Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

March 2015 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Golden Sisters: The sequel to the bestselling Martha's Girls (Martha's Girls Book 2)
Author(s): Alrene Hughes
Publisher: Blackstaff Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2015 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Golden Sisters: The sequel to Martha's Girls
Author(s): Alrene Hughes
Publisher: Blackstaff Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU