book cover of Snake Island
Added by 9 of our members

Snake Island

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
For fans of Cormac McCarthy, Phillip Meyer, Fargo, and Justified, a gritty rural noir thriller about family, drugs, and the legacy of violence.

In an isolated town on the coast of southern Australia, Vernon Moore and his wife, Penelope, live in retirement, haunted by an unspeakable act of violence that sent their son, Caleb, to serve time in prison and has driven the couple apart. Ashamed, they refuse to talk about him or visit, but when a close friend warns Vernon that Caleb has been savagely beaten, he has no choice but to act to protect their only child.
 
The perpetrator of the beating is a local thug from a crime family whose patriarch holds sway over the town, with the police in his pay. Everyone knows they trade in drugs. When Vernon maneuvers to negotiate a deal with the father, he makes a critical error. His mistake unleashes a cycle of violence that escalates to engulf the whole town, taking lives with it, revealing what has been hiding in plain sight in this picturesque rural community and threatening to overtake his son.

Told from shifting perspectives at a sprint, in language that sometimes approaches the simple profundity of parable, this gritty debut was hailed on its Australian publication as “a darkly illuminating thriller that soars across genre constraints . . . [and] engages with pressing contemporary issues while exploring timeless questions. Hobson writes as if his life depends on it” (The Australian).
 

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A rollicking tale of crime, corruption, and vengeance." - Mark Brandi

"Snake Island takes you to the limits of human emotion. A vivid, consuming dive into family loyalty, violence and the hearts broken when the two collide." - Candice Fox

"Remarkable. Ben Hobson's characters are deeply flawed, deeply human and beautifully realised. Part Western, part Greek tragedy, part morality tale—yet wholly original." - Chris Hammer


Similar books by other authors

cover of Blue Death
Blue Death
(Dan Fortune, book 7)
Michael Collins

Used availability for Ben Hobson's Snake Island

Hardback Editions

October 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Snake Island: A Novel
Author(s): Ben Hobson
ISBN: 1-950691-71-3 / 978-1-950691-71-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Arcade Crimewise
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2019 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Snake Island
Author(s): Ben Hobson
ISBN: 0-369-31261-9 / 978-0-369-31261-7
Publisher: ReadHowYouWant
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2019 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: Snake Island
Author(s): Ben Hobson
ISBN: 1-76052-723-8 / 978-1-76052-723-5 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Availability: Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

August 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Snake Island
Author(s): Ben Hobson
Publisher: Wavesound from W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


August 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Snake Island
Author(s): Ben Hobson
Publisher: Wavesound from W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Snake Island
Author(s): Ben Hobson
Publisher: Wavesound from W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

October 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Snake Island: A Novel
Author(s): Ben Hobson
Publisher: Arcade Crimewise
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


August 2019 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Snake Island
Author(s): Ben Hobson
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Availability: Amazon AU