book cover of The Assimilated Cuban\'s Guide to Quantum Santeria

The Assimilated Cuban's Guide to Quantum Santeria

(2016)
A collection of stories by

 
 
A quirky collection of short sci-fi stories for fans of Kij Johnson and Kelly Link

Assimilation is founded on surrender and being broken; this collection of short stories features people who have assimilated, but are actively trying to reclaim their lives. There is a concert pianist who defies death by uploading his soul into his piano. There is the person who draws his mother's ghost out of the bullet hole in the wall near where she was executed. Another character has a horn growing out of the center of his forehead - punishment for an affair. But he is too weak to end it, too much in love to be moral. Another story recounts a panda breeder looking for tips. And then there's a border patrol agent trying to figure out how to process undocumented visitors from another galaxy. Poignant by way of funny, and philosophical by way of grotesque, Hernandez's stories are prayers for self-sovereignty.

Genre: Science Fiction

Used availability for Carlos Hernandez's The Assimilated Cuban's Guide to Quantum Santeria

Hardback Editions

January 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Assimilated Cuban's Guide to Quantum Santeria
Author(s): Carlos Hernandez
ISBN: 1-4956-0740-2 / 978-1-4956-0740-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Rosarium Publishing
Availability: Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Assimilated Cuban's Guide to Quantum Santeria
Author(s): Carlos Hernandez
ISBN: 1-4956-0739-9 / 978-1-4956-0739-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Rosarium Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

February 2016 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Assimilated Cuban's Guide to Quantum Santeria
Author(s): Carlos Hernandez
Publisher: Rosarium Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA