book cover of Earthquake Weather

Earthquake Weather

A collection of stories by

By the bestselling author of DON'T LET ME GO and PAY IT FORWARD: Long before Hyde was a bestselling author, she wrote and published short stories on the road to the publication of her first novel, FUNERALS FOR HORSES. First released as a collection in 1998, the short stories compiled in EARTHQUAKE WEATHER have been published in literary magazines, nominated for Best American Short Stories, the O'Henry Award and the Pushcart Prize.

In "Dante," a woman inherits a dangerous dog from her late, married lover. The dog isn't dangerous to her, but he threatens anyone who tries to get near her. Now she's left wondering if that's exactly what her lover intended.

In "Mrs. Mulvaney, the Grasshopper God," an older woman has a spiritual experience and swears off mowing her lawn, driving her neighbor--who found her lawn unkempt to begin with--right over the edge.

In "Red Texas Sky," a young boy, plagued by nightmares since witnessing the death of his father, gets help from his mother's new boyfriend, an alcoholic Vietnam vet, who takes him on a mission to face his fears and leave his nightmares behind.

"Of the eighteen stories collected here... all are worth reading. Empathy is everywhere in this book.... And perhaps that's what's so striking about this collection: in your heart, you can see yourself in most every character. Sometimes that's frightening, and sometimes it's kind of nice. Either way it's a good read."

--San Luis Obispo Telegram-Tribune

This "Classic Catherine" Anniversary Edition includes a new Author's Note by Catherine Ryan Hyde.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Used availability for Catherine Ryan Hyde's Earthquake Weather

Hardback Editions

March 1998 : USA Hardback

Title: Earthquake Weather
Author(s): Catherine Ryan Hyde
ISBN: 0-9653524-7-1 / 978-0-9653524-7-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Russian Hill Pr
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

November 2013 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Earthquake Weather, and Other Stories
Author(s): Catherine Ryan Hyde
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU