book cover of Her Broken Wings
Added by 14 of our members

Her Broken Wings

(2020)
(The eighth book in the Detectives Kane and Alton series)
A novel by

 
 
The sound that wakes her from sleep is unmistakable—someone is in their house. She listens as heavy footsteps start up the stairs, and as the bedroom door is flung open, she doesn’t even have time to scream…

Following a frantic emergency call in the middle of the night, Detective Jenna Alton arrives at a secluded family home to find the body of Lucas Robinson lying in a pool of his own blood in his bed. His wife Carol, shivering in shock, has just watched an intruder shoot her husband in cold blood.

As Jenna investigates the murder, she soon discovers that Lucas was having an affair. And when his mistress is also found strangled to death in the center of the small town, Jenna is convinced that the murderer is living amongst them.

When the killer escalates with a mass murder at a remote ranch on the outskirts of Black Rock Falls, Jenna knows for sure that she’s dealing with a murderer more twisted than any other she’s faced before.

As the town begins to fill with revelers for the annual Halloween festival, Jenna has to work fast to stop any more lives being taken. But as the killer always seems to be one step ahead of the investigation, has she finally met a murderer who can outsmart her?

Fans of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter and Rachel Abbott will love this compelling and nail-biting crime thriller from USA Today bestselling author, D.K. Hood.

**Each Kane and Alton book can be read as part of the series or as a standalone**

What readers are saying about Her Broken Wings:


Oh my, oh my GodThis is another cracking story!!!... This author really deserves the title of Queen of Suspense… She had chills running down my spine and I just couldn’t stop reading. Incredibly, mind-blowingly brilliant!”B for Bookreview, 5 stars

“What a fantastic book it is. Totally addictive. I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“An excellent readHad me captivated the whole way though… I had a couple of wow moments that took my breath away. All in all a bloody brilliant book that totally deserves 5 stars.” Bonnie’s Book Talk, 5 stars

Hold on to your hats for the surprise ending!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“Absolutely terrific read.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“Another phenomenal instalment to this series. I love the new characters… Some scenes had my heart threatening to burst out of my chest.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

Whew!... Thanks for the twist. I never saw it coming!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“They just keep getting better. I love this series.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

“This one ups the ante on pulse-pounding suspenseFull of action and surprising twists that the reader won’t see coming.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“This is a wonderful series with great characters, inventive storylines and a familiarity that welcomes you in each time you begin a new book… A first class read.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“Another chilling, dark plot in the most dangerous town of Black Rock Falls. A highly recommended read.” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

“Absolutely gut gripping! Worth more than five stars!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Excellent… Long may this series continue!” Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Save Her Soul
(Detective Josie Quinn, book 9)
Lisa Regan
thumb
Hidden
(Texas Murder Files, book 1)
Laura Griffin

Used availability for D K Hood's Her Broken Wings

Paperback Editions

March 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Her Broken Wings: A completely unputdownable serial killer thriller
Author(s): D K Hood
ISBN: 1-78681-902-3 / 978-1-78681-902-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Her Broken Wings: Detectives Kane and Alton, Book 8
Author(s): D K Hood
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


March 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Her Broken Wings: Detectives Kane and Alton, Book 8
Author(s): D K Hood
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Her Broken Wings: Detectives Kane and Alton, Book 8
Author(s): D K Hood
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Her Broken Wings: Detectives Kane and Alton, Book 8
Author(s): D K Hood
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Her Broken Wings: A completely unputdownable serial killer thriller (Detectives Kane and Alton Book 8)
Author(s): D K Hood
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU