book cover of This Might Hurt a Bit

This Might Hurt a Bit

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
"Full of wit and wisdom, and riotously funny to boot. A phenomenal debut!" - Ransom Riggs, New York Times bestselling author of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children
"As irreverent as it is gratifying." - David Arnold, New York Times bestselling author of Kids of Appetite and Mosquitoland

A grieving teen faces dangerous classmates, reckless friends, and the one-year anniversary of his sister's devastating death in this poignant, quirky, often humorous novel that's perfect for fans of Jeff Zentner and Brendan Kiely.

Kirby Burns is about to have the second worst day of his life.

Tomorrow is the one-year anniversary of the worst day of his life, and in the three hundred and sixty-four days since then he hasn't stopped running: from his family, his memories, and the horse-sized farm dogs that chase him to the bus stop every morning.

But he can't run forever, and as This Might Hurt a Bit begins, Kirby and his friends PJ and Jake sneak out of his house to play a prank whose consequences follow them to school the next day, causing a chain reaction of mayhem and disaster. It's a story that's touching and funny, an authentic meditation on the pain of loss, and the challenge of getting paint to stick to cows.

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Praise for this book

"Survival is key in this debut novel as irreverent as it is gratifying." - David Arnold


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Doogie Horner's This Might Hurt a Bit

Hardback Editions

June 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: This Might Hurt a Bit
Author(s): Doogie Horner
ISBN: 1-5344-2717-1 / 978-1-5344-2717-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: This Might Hurt a Bit
Author(s): Doogie Horner
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

June 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: This Might Hurt a Bit
Author(s): Doogie Horner
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA