book cover of Her Wartime Secret
Added by 36 of our members

Her Wartime Secret

(2021)
(The first book in the Worktown Girls at War series)
A novel by

 
 
The first book in Emma Hornby's page-turning Worktown Girls at War series, from the bestselling author of A Shilling for a Wife

---------------------

Bolton, Lancashire: 1940

A family torn apart by war, held together by a secret . . .

Janie and her husband James have a strong, loving marriage. A move from an inner-city slum to a peaceful new estate outside of Bolton should have been a fresh start for them and their three children. But when war is declared and James announces he has signed up, Janie fears it's the beginning of the end.

Waving goodbye to their menfolk is a sacrifice that families are making all over the country and Janie does her best to make do, forging friendships in her new community.

But when James comes home on leave a traumatised and desperate man, then goes AWOL, Janie's heart goes out to him. Determined to keep him safe, she plans to hide him in their new house. But how long can they keep the secret, and what threats lie ahead if they're found out?

A page-turning new wartime saga about love, friendship and secrets, for fans of Katie Flynn and Rosie Goodwin.

---------------------

Readers love Emma Hornby
:

'Similar to Rosie Goodwin and Dilly Court, Emma Hornby tells a brilliant story that will keep you guessing with twists and turns. Pure talent.'

'Emma Hornby's books just keep getting better and better. Honest, gritty, lovely characters.'

'Keep writing Emma, you are very talented and can't wait for your next book. I've read them all.'

'Emma is a wonderful storyteller and I can't wait for the next one!'

'Thank you again Emma Hornby for a captivating read'

'Another beautifully written story by Emma Hornby'



Genre: Sagas

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Emma Hornby's Her Wartime Secret

Hardback Editions

August 2021 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Her Wartime Secret: A page-turning WWII saga from the bestselling author
Author(s): Emma Hornby
ISBN: 1-78763-468-X / 978-1-78763-468-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bantam Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

September 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Her Wartime Secret: A page-turning WWII saga from the bestselling author (Worktown Girls at War Book 1)
Author(s): Emma Hornby
ISBN: 0-552-17809-8 / 978-0-552-17809-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corgi
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Her Wartime Secret
Author(s): Emma Hornby
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


September 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Her Wartime Secret
Author(s): Emma Hornby
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

August 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Her Wartime Secret: A page-turning WWII saga from the bestselling author (Worktown Girls at War Book 1)
Author(s): Emma Hornby
Publisher: Transworld Digital
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU