book cover of The Loyal Servant

The Loyal Servant

(The first book in the London Evening News series)
A novel by

Lucy Cavendish College Fiction Prize Best Book
Winner of the Lucy Cavendish Prize for fiction, The Loyal Servant is a fast-paced murder mystery and chart-topping political thriller.

"A brilliantly-paced thriller... Perfectly balanced between character and plot. Very gripping and suspenseful" - Sophie Hannah

Caroline Barber is a civil servant, busy at work trying to avoid being laid off and busy at home holding her noisy and demanding family together. Her dull daily routine is shattered when she discovers her boss - a senior politician - dead at his desk. Although the pills and whiskey bottle point to suicide, Caroline is certain he would never take his own life.

Unable to accept the official version of events, she sets out to uncover the real reason the minister had to die and quickly discovers a web of secrets and lies spun by some very powerful men. Enlisting the help of a ruthless newspaper reporter, Caroline continues to dig, taking greater and greater risks until she uncovers a conspiracy shocking enough to bring down the government.

Out of her depth and putting the safety of her family in jeopardy, will Caroline get the chance to expose the corruption? Or will she be silenced for good?

A murder mystery with a killer twist: everything that happens to Caroline could happen to you. Anyone who's ever worked in an office should scroll up and download this book now. Once you start reading, you won't be able to stop.

Praise for The Loyal Servant
"Deftly plotted, tightly paced and above all, very well written"
"Cracking fast paced crime thriller, with many twists and turns"
"A must read for any lover of thrillers, the fast pace and cliff hangers leave you unable to put it down"


- The Loyal Servant (Angela Tate Book 1)
- The Senior Moment: A Highly Unconventional Heist Thriller
- The Deadly Silence (formerly The Third Estate) (Angela Tate Book 2)
- Run Girl (Ingrid Skyberg FBI Thrillers Book 1)
- Fresh Doubt (Ingrid Skyberg FBI Thrillers Book 2)
- Kill Plan (Ingrid Skyberg FBI Thrillers Book 3)
- Deep Hurt (Ingrid Skyberg FBI Thrillers Book 4)


After years of enjoying thrillers and police procedurals by authors like Lee Child and Michael Connelly, Eva was inspired to write thrillers herself. In 2011 she won the inaugural Lucy Cavendish fiction prize for her first novel, The Loyal Servant.

Similar books by other authors

Used availability for Eva Hudson's The Loyal Servant

Paperback Editions

July 2012 : USA Paperback

Title: The Loyal Servant
Author(s): Eva Hudson
ISBN: 1-4776-2521-6 / 978-1-4776-2521-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

January 2014 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: The Loyal Servant: A Very British Political Thriller (Angela Tate Investigations Book 1)
Author(s): Eva Hudson
Publisher: Two Pies Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA