book cover of The Bordeaux Book Club
Added by 19 members
 

The Bordeaux Book Club

(2024)
A novel by

 
 
Love books? The Bordeaux Book Club is seeking new members!

When Leah and her husband moved to France, it was with the dream of becoming self-sufficient. But in truth, it’s not the ‘good life’ she’d imagined, as three hours of digging barely yields a single straggly carrot. Worse, her teenage daughter is acting up, and her husband seems to find every strange excuse under the hot French sun to disappear.

So when her friend entreats her to join the new bookclub she’s forming, Leah decides it’s something she will do for herself. The chance to make new friends, to drink a few glasses of wine, and to escape into stories that take her miles away from the life she’d thought would be her own happy-ever-after.

But the book club is a strange group of misfits. There’s prickly Grace, who lives alone and seems to know everybody and like no-one. Buttoned-up Monica, who says her husband is away and appears to be parenting her baby all alone. Handsome builder George, who has barely read a book before. And Alfie – who is a full two decades younger than everyone else, and is hiding a devastating secret…

As the stories they read begin to bring the new friends closer together, Leah is about to discover that happy-ever-afters don’t always look how you expect them to…

A gorgeously escapist read from the bestselling author of A Year at the French Farmhouse, perfect for fans of Veronica Henry, Jo Thomas and Fiona Valpy.

Readers love Gillian Harvey:

Irresistible! Sparkles with warmth, wit and compassion. A treat from start to finish!’ Nicola Gill, author

An uplifting, heartwarming, escapist novel to be read with a DO NOT DISTURB sign, because once you start that very first page, you are not going to want to put it down.’ Kim Nash, author

‘Just wonderful!… In one of the chapters, I cried my way through the whole of it… just so moving and meaningful… [But] this book is also funny and had me giggling and smiling at certain things that happen… This has been the perfect book, in the perfect setting, with perfect characters.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A joy… Honestly, I loved this story so much. It is filled with hope, and there are emotional moments as well.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Such a great, escapist read!’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘The entertainment, the friendships, the drama, the laughs, a book that transports you to the South of France = A Great Summer Read!… Fun, entertaining and enjoyable… I’m all in!’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Gillian Harvey’s books are the ultimate treatFunny, witty, emotional, endearing… Her books are everything!’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Genre: General Fiction

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Gillian Harvey's The Bordeaux Book Club


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors