book cover of A Gravely Troubling Discovery
Added by 3 members
 

A Gravely Troubling Discovery

(2024)
(The fifth book in the Dinner Lady Detectives series)
A novel by

 
 

The truth isn't the only thing that's dead and buried...

Margery and Clementine Butcher-Baker have been warned not to interfere in any more police investigations. When a body is found under Summerview School's playground during renovations, they have absolutely no intention of getting involved.

Instead, the pair agree to help Mrs Redburn, who suspects her husband of having an affair. But when their sleuthing sends them stumbling into the middle of the playground mystery, staying out of the police's way is impossible.

Can the Dinner Lady Detectives uncover the truth about the body, and solve Mrs Redburn's case, or will they end up digging their own graves?

*A charming British cosy village mystery. Perfect for fans of J.M. Hall and Fiona Leitch. ** ## Praise for *Hannah Hendy and The Dinner Lady Detecitves:

‘Hannah is at the top of the tree of modern whodunnits. The characters, bar none, are real; the settings are glorious and the plots are devilishly clever’ Ian Moore, author of Death and Croissants

‘Who knew being a dinner lady could be so dangerous - but so much fun?! With a plot that's twistier than school dinner spag bol, Clem and Margery are the only school dinner ladies guaranteed to give you belly laughs rather than indigestion’ Fiona Leitch, author of The Cornish Village Murder

Hendy is, by far, one of the very best cosy writers we have - and A Frightfully Fatal Affair sees her on sparkling form’ Jonathan Whitelaw, author of The Bingo Hall Detectives

‘Twisty, delightful, and laugh-out-loud funny. I fell in love with Margery and Clementine from the first page’ Antony Johnston, author of The Dog Sitter Detective on The Dinner Lady Detectives

‘I really enjoyed this - a terrific zesty look at the dark underside of a modern-day secondary school’ J.M. Hall, author of A Spoonful of Murder

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"At the top of the tree of modern who dunnits." - Ian Moore


Visitors also looked at these books




About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors