book cover of Master of the Five Magics
Added by 4 of our members

Master of the Five Magics

(1980)
(The first book in the Magics series)
A novel by

 
 
Our reality is governed by physical laws
So is magic
Find out what they are
One of the most logical detailing of the laws of magic ever to appear in fantasy – Lester del Rey


Alodar was a mere journeyman, learning the least of the five arts of magic. He had no right to aspire to the hand of Vendora, Queen of all of Procolon. But aspired by the lure of romance, he did.

Fleeing a frontier castle as it falls, Alodar's quest takes him from one magical art to another—each with its own distinct powers and constraints. Aided by a mysterious eye from a smoldering volcano, at a college for magicians he discovers the secret lying behind the hypnotic flicker of common flame.

Volume 1 of the Magic by the Numbers series

Some of the Amazon reviews for the first edition
<A definite must read -- Britt
One of the greatest fantasy novels from the 1980s - Judith
Great book -- Grooveman
I can't say enough good things about this book.--Amazon customer
A truly great read -- Jeffery S. Miller
This book is flawless and fascinating. I can't wait to read it again -- Amazon customer

I grew up reading fantasy and science fiction, and one of the greatest regrets I have is that I never found more than three books written by Lyndon Hardy, an author I still consider an automatic buy. In a way, this man's work defined what I expect from fantasy -- Amazon customer

As my bookshelves continue to grow, I can name only a handful of books that I continue revisit time and time again. Duncan's Magic Casement series. Feist's Riftwar. Moon's Saga of Paksenarrion. And above all, Hardy's Master of the Five Magics. -- Amazon customer

Master of the Five Magics -- a stirring tale of adventure,action, magic -- and romance.
In the tradition of Fletcher Pratt and L. Sprague deCamp
A classsic fantasy, back in print after almost thirty years
Contains additional chapters, glossary, and author's afterward.

Genre: Fantasy

Similar books by other authors

thumb
A Shadow in Summer
(Long Price Quartet, book 1)
Daniel Abraham
thumb
The Painted Man
(Demon Cycle, book 1)
Peter V Brett
thumb
Blood Song
(Raven's Shadow, book 1)
Anthony Ryan

Used availability for Lyndon Hardy's Master of the Five Magics

Paperback Editions

November 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Master of the Five Magics, 2nd edition (Magic by the Numbers) (Volume 1)
Author(s): Lyndon Hardy
ISBN: 0-9971501-6-5 / 978-0-9971501-6-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bartizan Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 1985 : USA Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: Master of the Five Magics: (#1)
Author(s): Lyndon Hardy
ISBN: 0-345-33425-6 / 978-0-345-33425-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Del Rey
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 1985 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Master of the Five Magics
Author(s): Lyndon Hardy
ISBN: 0-552-12679-9 / 978-0-552-12679-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corgi
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 1984 : USA Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: Master of the Five Magics
Author(s): Lyndon Hardy
ISBN: 0-345-31907-9 / 978-0-345-31907-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Del Rey
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 1983 : USA Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: Master of Five Magics
Author(s): Lyndon Hardy
ISBN: 0-345-31157-4 / 978-0-345-31157-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Del Rey
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 1980 : USA Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: Master of the Five Magics (Del Rey Fantasy)
Author(s): Lyndon Hardy
ISBN: 0-345-27635-3 / 978-0-345-27635-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

November 2016 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Master of the Five Magics, 2nd edition (Magic by the Numbers Book 1)
Author(s): Lyndon Hardy
Publisher: Bartizan Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU