book cover of Smoke and Mirrors
Added by 12 members
 

Smoke and Mirrors

(2024)
(The fourth book in the Greer Hogan Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
Librarian turned sleuth Greer Hogan is back on the case and headed to the big city in this fourth installment of M. E. Hilliard’s smart, suspenseful mystery series, perfect for fans of Elly Griffiths and Louise Penny.

Having spent months quietly investigating in the village of Raven Hill, Greer Hogan returns to New York City determined to find her husband’s murderer. She secures a temporary gig at a private library inventorying the personal collection of a deceased magician. In her free time, Greer sleuths, leaving no stone unturned–even the ones which could be hiding deadly secrets.

Four years earlier, Greer had discovered her husband Dan dead in their apartment. He’d tried to tell her about something strange going on at his office, but she hadn’t had time to listen until it was too late. Worse still, she has always suspected that the wrong man was convicted of the crime. Now, Greer has solved other murders and has a few tricks up her sleeve.  She combs through belongings she packed away soon after Dan’s death and interviews his former colleagues and people who were near the scene when he died. Soon, Greer is followed and attacked, so she knows she’s struck a nerve—but whose?

When two more people are killed and Greer realizes she can’t escape the smoke and mirrors surrounding her suspects, she confides in one of her new colleagues, a magician named Grim with whom she’s bonded over similar traumas. Though she knows he’s got secrets of his own, the tricky Grim may be exactly the assistant Greer needs to pull a rabbit out of a hat and shine a spotlight on a killer before the curtains come down on her for good.


Genre: Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for M E Hilliard's Smoke and Mirrors


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors