book cover of The Girls of Victory Street
Added by 31 of our members

The Girls of Victory Street

(2020)
(The first book in the Bryant Sisters series)
A novel by

 
 
‘I absolutely adored this book! I could not put it down, probably one of the fastest I have read a book this year… If you enjoy historical fiction, you will love this. The perfect book to curl up on the sofa with.’ Raesbookshelf

From Amazon bestseller Pam Howes comes an emotional World War Two saga about three young women whose bravery and friendship will see them through the darkest times.

Liverpool, 1939. Bella Rogers thought her life was just starting; she can’t wait to get married to her childhood sweetheart, Bobby. But when war is declared and Bobby is called up, his letters stop, leaving Bella heartbroken and alone. Then her family is torn apart by tragedy when her angelic five-year-old sister dies from a terrible illness. They can barely afford a funeral, but the church is packed with the entire community, devastated for their loss.

Grieving for her sister and lost love, Bella finds a job at the Bryant and May factory, making matches. As bombs begin to fall, Bella gets the workers singing, keeping spirits high amidst the fear. When she meets a handsome American airman, Earl Franklin Jr, Bella’s heart finally starts to mend. Earl encourages her passion and soon she and her friends are offered the opportunity of a lifetime: to travel the country’s army bases, entertaining the troops and singing for victory. They name themselves The Bryant Sisters.

Just as her life is getting back on track, Bella finds herself pregnant – and Earl reveals a shattering secret that changes everything about their future. Devastated, she flees home to Liverpool, but as an unmarried mother, will her family reject her? And, as she faces a terrible sacrifice, will she ever sing with The Bryant Sisters again?

A heartbreaking historical novel about women in wartime, friendship, family and hope. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Diney Costeloe and Wives of War.

Readers absolutely adore The Girls of Victory Street!


I was hooked… I wiped tears awaytears… If you love a really good wartime saga, then this is definitely the book for you!Stardust Book Reviews ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Utterly impossible for me to put down. A heartbreaking story… I really haven’t been able to put this one down and found I had devoured the entire book in just one sittingI have loved this book so much, I wish I could give it five hundred stars.’ Little Miss Book Lover 87 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I absolutely loved this bookA heartbreaking story but one that gets you so engaged in it you cannot put it down… Will keep you reading and enjoying right to the very last page and will desperately want more.’ Vicki, I Love Reading UK ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

OUTSTANDINGI really can’t praise this book enough.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I seriously inhaled this book, if that is possible… I absolutely loved this book.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

‘A truly wonderful, emotional story of loss, love… I was sorry to finish… I do love a story that draws you into the pages. Excellent.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Genre: Sagas

Similar books by other authors

thumb
A Mother Forever
(Woolworths Girls, book 6)
Elaine Everest
thumb
Harpers Heroes
(Welcome To Harpers Emporium, book 4)
Rosie Clarke
thumb
The Tobacco Girls
(Tobacco Girls, book 1)
Lizzie Lane

Used availability for Pam Howes's The Girls of Victory Street

Paperback Editions

July 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Girls of Victory Street: An absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 family saga: 1 (The Bryant Sisters)
Author(s): Pam Howes
ISBN: 1-83888-000-3 / 978-1-83888-000-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Girls of Victory Street: An Absolutely Heartbreaking World War 2 Family Saga: The Bryant Sisters, Book 1
Author(s): Pam Howes
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


July 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Girls of Victory Street: An Absolutely Heartbreaking World War 2 Family Saga: The Bryant Sisters, Book 1
Author(s): Pam Howes
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Girls of Victory Street: An Absolutely Heartbreaking World War 2 Family Saga: The Bryant Sisters, Book 1
Author(s): Pam Howes
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Girls of Victory Street: An Absolutely Heartbreaking World War 2 Family Saga: The Bryant Sisters, Book 1
Author(s): Pam Howes
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

July 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Girls of Victory Street: An absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 family saga (The Bryant Sisters Book 1)
Author(s): Pam Howes
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU