book cover of The Whale Warriors

The Whale Warriors

(2007)
The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals
A non fiction book by

 
 
In the tradition of The Perfect Storm, The Whale Warriors takes us on a hair-raising journey aboard a whale-saving pirate ship with a vigilante crew whose mission is to stop illegal Japanese whaling in the stormy remote seas off Antarctica. For two months, journalist Peter Heller rode aboard the vegan pirate ship Farley Mowat as it stalked its prey, a Japanese whaling fleet, through the storms and ice of Antarctica. The ship is black, flies under a jolly roger, and carries members of the Sea Shepherd Society, a radical environmental group who are willing to die to stop illegal whale hunting.

The Sea Shepherd ship, led by the charismatic Captain Paul Watson, a modern-day anti-Ahab, takes extreme risks in defense of whales and ratchets up the stakes. The ship is almost sunk twice, once in a force gale. Heller re-creates a nail-biting showdown when Watson and the crew attempt to ram an enormous Japanese whaling ship on the high seas, trying to tear open its hull with a steel blade called a "can opener". The crews on board both ships know that there will be no assistance in this desolate part of the ocean. In 35-foot seas, it is a deadly game of Antarctic chicken and a fast-paced, rollicking adventure in which the stakes cannot be higher.



Used availability for Peter Heller's The Whale Warriors

Hardback Editions

September 2007 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Whale Warriors: The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals
Author(s): Peter Heller
ISBN: 1-4165-3246-3 / 978-1-4165-3246-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Free Pr
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

December 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Whale Warriors: The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals
Author(s): Peter Heller
ISBN: 1-5011-9376-7 / 978-1-5011-9376-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Free Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2008 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Whale Warriors: The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals
Author(s): Peter Heller
ISBN: 1-4165-3248-X / 978-1-4165-3248-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Free Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

2008 : USA Audio CD

Title: Whale Warriors, The - on Playaway
Author(s): Peter Heller
ISBN: 1-60640-136-X / 978-1-60640-136-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Playaway
Availability: Amazon   


October 2007 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Whale Warriors
Author(s): Peter Heller
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   


October 2007 : Australia Audio edition

Title: The Whale Warriors
Author(s): Peter Heller
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


October 2007 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Whale Warriors
Author(s): Peter Heller
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


October 2007 : UK Audio edition

Title: The Whale Warriors
Author(s): Peter Heller
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


September 2007 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Whale Warriors: The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals
Author(s): Peter Heller
ISBN: 1-4001-0527-7 / 978-1-4001-0527-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2007 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Whale Warriors: The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals
Author(s): Peter Heller
ISBN: 1-4001-3527-3 / 978-1-4001-3527-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2007 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Whale Warriors: The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals
Author(s): Peter Heller
ISBN: 1-4001-5527-4 / 978-1-4001-5527-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

September 2007 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Whale Warriors: The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals
Author(s): Peter Heller
Publisher: Free Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA