book cover of Sword of the War God
Added by 20 members
 

Sword of the War God

(2024)
A novel by

 
 
THE EPIC HISTORICAL NOVEL OF THE YEAR - PREORDER NOW!

Featuring breathtaking battles, fearsome foes, and vehement vows of vengeance, SWORD OF THE WAR GOD is a thrilling adventure set amongst the blood and tumult of fifth-century Europe, where the dying Roman Empire, the mighty Huns, and heroes from Norse mythology vie for power.

In a world of war and ruin, men and gods collide.

436 AD. The Burgundars are confident of destroying Rome's legions, for the Empire is weak. Their forces are strong and they have beaten the Romans in battle before.

But they are annihilated, their king killed, his people scattered. Their fabled treasure is lost. For Rome has new allies: the Huns, whose taste for bloodshed knows no bounds.

Many years later, the Huns, led by the fearsome Attila, have become the deadliest enemies of Rome. Attila seeks the Burgundars' treasure, for it includes the legendary Sword of the War God, said to make the bearer unbeatable.

No alliance can defeat Attila by conventional means. With Rome desperate for help, a one-eyed old warlord from distant lands and his strange band of warriors may have the answers... but oaths will be broken and the plains of Europe will run with blood before the end.

Drawing on Norse mythology and European history, Sword of the War God is an epic historical adventure perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Joanne Harris, Neil Gaiman and Christian Cameron.

Reviews for Tim Hodkinson

'Will appeal to fans of Bernard Cornwell, George R. R. Martin, and especially Theodore Brun.'
Historical Novel Society
'An excellently written page-turner.'
Historical Writers Association


Genre: Fantasy

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Tim Hodkinson's Sword of the War God


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors