book cover of Slow Burner
 

Slow Burner

(1958)
(A book in the Colonel Charles Russell series)
A novel by

 
 
'Here at last we have an adult Ian Fleming' - Sunday Express

For British spymaster, Colonel Russell, the Cold War is about to get hotter.

When plans for a new and highly-innovative form of nuclear energy are stolen it falls to Russell's Security Executive to retrieve them before the secrets of Slow Burner are leaked to Britain's enemies.

But as Russell discovers, the enemy within can be more dangerous than any foreign adversary.

Tense, pacy, intelligent and atmospheric, Slow Burner is the first in William Haggard's Colonel Russell series of hugely acclaimed Cold War thrillers - now available in digital version for the first time.

For fans of Ian Fleming, John le Carre, Charles Cumming and Frederick Forsyth.

'Thoroughly recommended' - Observer

'Could hardly be bettered' - New Statesman

'Very good and very intelligent, spy and political fiction. Plot, pace, suspense and set-piece action without flaw' - Independent

'Utterly compelling. . . like reading a Bond from M's viewpoint' - HF magazine

Genre: Thriller

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for William Haggard's Slow Burner


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors