book cover of The Unquiet Sleep

The Unquiet Sleep

(A book in the Colonel Charles Russell series)
A novel by

Sex, drugs and a deadly toll . . .

Designer drugs are nothing new in the Sixties, but when a new tranquillizer proves to be dangerously addictive and a risk to national security, then it falls to Colonel Russell to investigate.

As his Security Executive follows the drug trail from the black market to the Houses of Parliament, Russell uncovers a ruthless enemy determined to use any means - political and violent - to protect its market.

It will take all Russell's experience to navigate the corridors of power and break the drug's hold on the country.

The Unquiet Sleep is the fourth novel in William Haggard's Colonel Russell series of hugely acclaimed Cold War thrillers - now available in digital version for the first time.

For fans of Ian Fleming, John le Carre, Charles Cumming and Frederick Forsyth.

Praise for William Haggard's Colonel Russell series:

'Compulsively fascinating' - Evening Standard

'Here at last we have an adult Ian Fleming' - Sunday Express
'Could hardly be bettered' - New Statesman
'Very good and very intelligent, spy and political fiction. Plot, pace, suspense and set-piece action without flaw' - Independent
'An intelligent, sophisticated political novel and a first-class thriller' - Daily Herald
'Utterly compelling. . . like reading a Bond from M's viewpoint' - HF magazine

Genre: Thriller

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for William Haggard's The Unquiet Sleep

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors