book cover of Baker\'s Dozen

Baker's Dozen

(The second book in the Anna Farkas Mystery series)
A novel by

When a retired judge is stabbed to death in the family bakery, some suspect the motive is cold revenge for harsh sentences he'd handed down years back. Then a young thug from town is also killed, execution style, supposedly by a New Haven crime family. Sixty-five-year-old housewife Anna Farkas had been exchanging stories about cooking with the old judge. In the small town of North Farms, Connecticut, outside New Haven, Anna lives a quiet life, a woman happy in her kitchen. Part of the small Hungarian-American community that grew up around a factory, she is bothered by the murder of her friend. Her great-nephew Mike is a local cop, a man she and her late husband raised after the death of his parents. Slowly, gathering bits of information, unwitting sleuth Anna grapples with the murder. Surrounded by a cast of opinionated characters, including her eccentric two sisters and gossipy neighbors, Anna navigates the strange waters of the town as she and Mike begin to piece together the events that led to murder.As the Fourth of July nears and the town gets ready to celebrate, Anna finds herself followed and warned. What does she know? Slowly, methodically, as she bakes her cookies for the church bake sale, she realizes that she can name the murderer of the old judge. But suddenly her own life is in danger.

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for Edward Ifkovic's Baker's Dozen

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors