book cover of A Deathly Silence
Added by 11 of our members

A Deathly Silence

(2019)
(The third book in the DCI Helen Lavery series)
A novel by

 
 
A gripping thriller perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah'Fans of Lynda La Plante’s Jane Tennison will be pleased'Publishers Weekly

When the mutilated body of a police officer is found in a derelict factory, the Hamptonshire police force is shocked to the core.

DCI Helen Lavery returns from injury leave and is immediately plunged into an investigation like no other. Is this a random attack or is someone targeting the force? Organised crime groups or a lone killer?

As the net draws in, Helen finds the truth lies closer than she could have imagined, and trusts no one.

But Helen is facing a twisted killer who will stop at nothing to ensure their secrets remain hidden. And time is running out...

REVIEWS

'The novel will appeal to every crime reader who enjoys clever plotting and brilliant procedural detail' Kate Rhodes

'An atmospheric and reassuringly authentic police investigation that tears along at a rip-roaring pace' A.J. Waines

'This was a gripping page-turner of a read – I finished it in one sitting!' LJ Ross

'Such a smart, classy and satisfying read. Isaac really is the queen of the police procedural… Isaac patiently drip-feeds the story – her biggest talent – and the pay-off is that you really care, so the twist is doubly shocking. Loved it' Louise Beech

'Perfectly plotted police procedural that engages the reader from the discovery of the first body through a fast-paced investigation dogged by leaks, to a dramatic and terrifying conclusion. Jane Isaac at her best' Anne Coates

'Jane Isaac weaves a tense story where you don't know who to trust or believe and you can't help but keep turning the pages. She is a master of the procedural and a go-to writer if you want your story twisted' Rebecca Bradley

'An intriguing and deeply authentic mystery paired with a solid police procedural, A Deathly Silence tells a tragic yet utterly compelling story. Expertly plotted and filled with realistic, well-drawn characters, this is an excellent addition to the DI Helen Lavery series' SJI Holliday

'Everything else was put on hold; I was reading at breakneck speed. A first-rate, fast-paced and utterly compelling police procedural – highly recommended' Clare Chase

‘A clever, mind-twisting police procedural, with a cast of well-thought out characters, and a depth that will appeal to mystery addicts' Daisy White

'A gripping read. Tense, pacy and authentic – you won't want to put it down!' Roz Watkins

'The brilliant DI Lavery is back to solve a chilling murder. Isaac unravels the shocking, dark mystery with skill and an excellent eye for detail' Caroline England

'From its chilling opening pages, A Deathly Silence is a gripping and superior police procedural. You might end up reading this one in a day. I can't wait to see what she bring us next' Howard Linskey

BOOKS BY JANE ISAAC

DCI Helen Lavery
Book 1: An Unfamiliar Murder
Book 2: The Truth Will Out
Book 3: A Deathly Silence

DI Will Jackman
Book 1: Before It's Too Late
Book 2: Beneath the Ashes
Book 3: The Lies Within

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Dead In Deep Water
(Archer and Baines, book 2)
Dave Sivers

Used availability for Jane Isaac's A Deathly Silence

Paperback Editions

October 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A Deathly Silence (The DCI Helen Lavery Thrillers Book 3)
Author(s): Jane Isaac
ISBN: 1-78955-071-8 / 978-1-78955-071-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Legend Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2020 : UK Audio CD

Title: A Deathly Silence
Author(s): Jane Isaac
ISBN: 1-78771-952-9 / 978-1-78771-952-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing (CD)
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


April 2020 : UK Audio CD

Title: A Deathly Silence
Author(s): Jane Isaac
ISBN: 1-78771-981-2 / 978-1-78771-981-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing (MP3 CD)
Availability: Amazon   


April 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Deathly Silence
Author(s): Jane Isaac
Publisher: Oakhill
Availability: Amazon   


April 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Deathly Silence
Author(s): Jane Isaac
Publisher: Oakhill
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Deathly Silence
Author(s): Jane Isaac
Publisher: Oakhill
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Deathly Silence
Author(s): Jane Isaac
Publisher: Oakhill
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

October 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Deathly Silence (The DCI Helen Lavery Thrillers Book 3)
Author(s): Jane Isaac
Publisher: Legend Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Deathly Silence (The DCI Helen Lavery Thrillers Book 3)
Author(s): Jane Isaac
Publisher: Legend Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA