book cover of Mirrorland
Added by 23 of our members

Mirrorland

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
“Dark and devious... Beautifully written and plotted with a watchmaker’s precision.Stephen King

“A dark, twisty, and richly atmospheric exploration of the power of imagination” Ruth Ware, author of One by One and The Woman in Cabin 10

With the startling twists of Gone Girl and the haunting emotional power of Room, Mirrorland is a thrilling work of psychological suspense about twin sisters, the man they both love, and the dark childhood they can’t leave behind.

Cat lives in Los Angeles, far away from 36 Westeryk Road, the imposing gothic house in Edinburgh where she and her estranged twin sister, El, grew up. As girls, they invented Mirrorland, a dark, imaginary place under the pantry stairs full of pirates, witches, and clowns. These days Cat rarely thinks about their childhood home, or the fact that El now lives there with her husband Ross.

But when El mysteriously disappears after going out on her sailboat, Cat is forced to return to 36 Westeryk Road, which has scarcely changed in twenty years. The grand old house is still full of shadowy corners, and at every turn Cat finds herself stumbling on long-held secrets and terrifying ghosts from the past. Because someone—El?—has left Cat clues in almost every room: a treasure hunt that leads right back to Mirrorland, where she knows the truth lies crouched and waiting...

A twisty, dark, and brilliantly crafted thriller about love and betrayal, redemption and revenge, Mirrorland is a propulsive, page-turning debut about the power of imagination and the price of freedom.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Carole Johnstone’s debut feels like the love child of Gillian Flynn and Stephen King. In Mirrorland, nothing is as it appears and the kaleidoscope twists and turns will have you frantically turning the pages until you reach the gasp-out-loud ending." - Greer Hendricks

"I loved Mirrorland. It’s dark and devious, a neo-gothic featuring twin sisters and a deeply frightening old dark house. Beautifully written and plotted with a watchmaker’s precision." - Stephen King

"An intricate, brilliant puzzle of a novel where past and present, fantasy and reality, are all clues that one twin must decipher to uncover the fate of her missing sister and the secrets of their shared past. It's Gone Girl meets Rebecca...atmospheric, tightly plotted and utterly gripping, a must read for fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn." - Sarah Pinborough

"Thrilling, dark, and propulsive, Mirrorland is an unsettling shape-shifter of a novel. This is a story about a mysterious death and a long-buried secret, but it's also a fascinating, terrifying portrait of how we seek refuge in our imaginations—and how easily imagination can be confused with reality." - Anna Pitoniak

"A dark, twisty and richly atmospheric exploration of the power of imagination." - Ruth Ware


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Carole Johnstone's Mirrorland

Hardback Editions

April 2021 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Mirrorland: the dark, twisty, gothic fiction debut from 2021's new voice in psychological suspense
Author(s): Carole Johnstone
ISBN: 0-00-836138-X / 978-0-00-836138-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: The Borough Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2021 : Hardback
thumb

Title: Mirrorland
Author(s): Johnstone, Carole
ISBN: 1-982136-35-9 / 978-1-982136-35-2
Publisher: Scribner
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

October 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Mirrorland: the dark, twisty, gothic fiction debut from 2021's new voice in psychological suspense
Author(s): Carole Johnstone
ISBN: 0-00-836142-8 / 978-0-00-836142-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: The Borough Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Mirrorland
Author(s): Carole Johnstone
ISBN: 1-982171-74-X / 978-1-982171-74-2
Publisher: Scribner
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Mirrorland: the dark, twisty, gothic fiction debut from 2021's new voice in psychological suspense
Author(s): Carole Johnstone
ISBN: 0-00-836139-8 / 978-0-00-836139-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins GB
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Mirrorland: the dark, twisty, gothic fiction debut from 2021's new voice in psychological suspense
Author(s): Carole Johnstone
ISBN: 0-00-847940-2 / 978-0-00-847940-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: The Borough Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2021 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Mirrorland
Author(s): Carole Johnstone
ISBN: 1-79711-680-0 / 978-1-79711-680-8
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   


April 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Mirrorland
Author(s): Carole Johnstone
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Mirrorland
Author(s): Carole Johnstone
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Mirrorland
Author(s): Carole Johnstone
Publisher: The Borough Press
Availability: Amazon   


April 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Mirrorland
Author(s): Carole Johnstone
Publisher: The Borough Press
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Mirrorland
Author(s): Carole Johnstone
Publisher: The Borough Press
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2021 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Mirrorland
Author(s): Carole Johnstone
Publisher: Scribner
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


April 2021 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Mirrorland: the dark, twisty, gothic fiction debut from 2021's new voice in psychological suspense
Author(s): Carole Johnstone
Publisher: The Borough Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU