book cover of Unseen
Added by 11 of our members

Unseen

(2006)
(The first book in the Anders Knutas series)
A novel by

 
 
Swedish crime at its best---dark, atmospheric, and chilling

The island of Gotland is in the middle of a busy tourist season and getting ready for Midsummer, the 4th of July of Swedish holidays, when a young woman and her dog are found brutally murdered. The dog has been beheaded and is missing a paw; the woman is naked, covered in gruesome axe wounds, and her panties have been stuffed in her mouth.
What looks like a crime committed by the victim's jealous husband keeps the local police force on their toes. Then a second victim is found. A serial killer terrorizes tourists and locals alike, and Inspector Anders Knutas has to face additional pressure from the media and local politicians who are worried about bad PR for the island.
In his quest for the murderer, he is aided by Johan Berg, an intrepid young journalist from Stockholm who has been sent to cover the incidents and who gets involved with Emma, one of the first victim's close friends. Three women die before Knutas and Berg, each approaching the case in their own way, finally close in on the killer, who has always, until now, been the one unseen by everybody.
Jungstedt has written an atmospheric and exciting first mystery in clear, unadorned prose, in the tradition of Henning Mankell, Håkan Nesser, and Karin Fossum.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Blood Spilt
(Rebecka Martinsson, book 2)
Åsa Larsson
thumb
Knife
(Harry Hole, book 12)
Jo Nesbø

Used availability for Mari Jungstedt's Unseen

Hardback Editions

January 2008 : UK Hardback

Title: Unseen (Ulverscroft Large Print)
Author(s): Mari Jungstedt
ISBN: 1-84782-059-X / 978-1-84782-059-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ulverscroft Large Print Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


September 2006 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Unseen: A Mystery
Author(s): Mari Jungstedt
ISBN: 0-312-35157-7 / 978-0-312-35157-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2008 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Unseen: Anders Knutas series 1
Author(s): Mari Jungstedt
ISBN: 0-552-15509-8 / 978-0-552-15509-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corgi
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


December 2006 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Unseen
Author(s): Mari Jungstedt
ISBN: 0-385-61119-6 / 978-0-385-61119-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Doubleday
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

June 2011 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Unseen: Anders Knutas series 1
Author(s): Mari Jungstedt
Publisher: Transworld Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2007 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Unseen: A Mystery (Anders Knutas Book 1)
Author(s): Mari Jungstedt
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA