book cover of Listen for the Whippoorwill

Listen for the Whippoorwill

Harriet Tubman
(The tenth book in the Trailblazer series)
A novel by

Thrilling adventure stories introducing young readers (ages 8-12) to Christian heroes of the past.

Living as a slave with her family on an old Maryland plantation in 1853, twelve-year-old Rosebud Jackson had been helping her mother with the cooking for the Big House as long as she could remember. Rosebud's world seemed like an endless pile of pots and pans to wash, food to prepare, and bread to bake. Her father worked long days in the fields while her fifteen-year-old brother Isaac was the stable boy.

But when a series of tragedies strike, Sarah is left alone and very afraid. Her only hope is that the words of her father will come true: "Just listen for the whippoorwill." When the harvest season is over, this sound will be her signal to follow in a desperate attempt to escape her cruel slavery.

On the darkest of nights, Rosebud will meet the mysterious person the slaves called "Moses," who will lead her and other slaves on a harrowing journey toward the North on the Underground Railroad. Harriet Tubman, known as "Moses," was also an escaped slave and became notorious for leading bands of runaways on their dangerous passage to Canada.

Will Rosebud be able to keep up? Does Harriet Tubman know the way?

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Used availability for Neta Jackson's Listen for the Whippoorwill

Hardback Editions

September 1993 : USA Library Binding

Title: Listen for the Whippoorwill: Harriet Tubman (Trailblazer Books #10)
Author(s): Dave Jackson, Neta Jackson, Julian Jackson
ISBN: 1-4176-0778-5 / 978-1-4176-0778-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Sagebrush Education Resources
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

Paperback Editions

June 2016 : USA Paperback

Title: Listen for the Whippoorwill: Introducing Harriet Tubman (Trailblazer Books) (Volume 10)
Author(s): Dave Jackson, Neta Jackson
ISBN: 1-939445-12-4 / 978-1-939445-12-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Castle Rock Creative, Incorporated
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

September 1993 : USA Paperback

Title: Listen for the Whippoorwill: Harriet Tubman (Trailblazer Books #10)
Author(s): Dave and Neta Jackson
ISBN: 1-55661-272-9 / 978-1-55661-272-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bethany House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

October 2001 : USA Paperback

Title: Harriet Tubman: Curriculum Guide : Listen for the Whippoorwill (Trailblazer Curriculum Guides, 5)
Author(s): Julia Pferdehirt, Dave Jackson, Neta Jackson
ISBN: 0-7642-2536-7 / 978-0-7642-2536-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bethany House Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

September 2011 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Listen for the Whippoorwill (Trailblazer Books Book 10)
Author(s): Dave Jackson, Neta Jackson
Publisher: Castle Rock Creative
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA