book cover of Fire & Ice
Added by 4 of our members

Fire & Ice

(2011)
(The first book in the Icefire Trilogy series)
A novel by

 
 
Where magic is dark and gritty, characters are troubled and twisted, and victory comes at a heavy price.

Deep under the City of Glass in the frozen Southern land, an age-old machine called the Heart of the City radiates a power that locals call icefire. Most citizens are immune to it, but a few, always born with physical disabilities, can bend it to their will. For 50 years, the ruling Eagle Knights, who fly on the back of giant birds, have killed these Imperfects, fearing the return of the old royal family, who used icefire to cut out people's hearts, turning them into ghostly servitors.

The old king's grandson Tandor only sees the good things icefire brought: power and technology now forgotten while the people of the South live in dire poverty. He's had enough of seeing his fellow kinsfolk slaughtered by ignorant Knights, of Imperfect babies being abandoned on the ice floes to be eaten by wild animals. His grandfather's diary tells him how to increase the beat of the Heart, the first step to making the land glorious once more. Arrogant as he is, he sets the machine in motion. All he needs is an army of Imperfect servitors to control the resulting power.

Isandor is Imperfect, an ex-Knight apprentice, betrayed by his best friend and running for his life. Queen Jevaithi is Imperfect, living like a prisoner amidst leering Knights, surviving only because the common people would rebel if their beloved queen were harmed.

Both are young and desperate and should be grateful Tandor wants to rescue them from their hopeless situations. Or so he thinks. The youngsters, however, have no inclination to become heartless ghosts, but while they defy Tandor, the Heart beats, and he alone cannot control its power.

This will appeal to fans of Joe Abercrombie and George R.R. Martin.

Genre: Fantasy

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Ezaara
(Riders of Fire, book 1)
Eileen Mueller
thumb
Dragon Storm
(Heritage of Power, book 1)
Lindsay Buroker

Used availability for Patty Jansen's Fire & Ice

Hardback Editions

June 2018 : Australia Hardback
thumb

Title: Fire & Ice
Author(s): Patty Jansen
ISBN: 1-925841-72-3 / 978-1-925841-72-5 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Capricornica Publications
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

June 2018 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: Fire & Ice
Author(s): Patty Jansen
ISBN: 1-925841-71-5 / 978-1-925841-71-8 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Capricornica Publications
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: Fire & Ice (Icefire Trilogy)
Author(s): Patty Jansen
ISBN: 1-925841-48-0 / 978-1-925841-48-0 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Capricornica Publications
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

November 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Fire & Ice: Icefire Trilogy, Book 1
Author(s): Patty Jansen
Publisher: Patty Jansen
Availability: Amazon   


November 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Fire & Ice: Icefire Trilogy, Book 1
Author(s): Patty Jansen
Publisher: Patty Jansen
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Fire & Ice: Icefire Trilogy, Book 1
Author(s): Patty Jansen
Publisher: Patty Jansen
Availability: Amazon CA   


November 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Fire & Ice: Icefire Trilogy, Book 1
Author(s): Patty Jansen
Publisher: Patty Jansen
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2013 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Fire & Ice (Icefire Trilogy Book 1)
Author(s): Patty Jansen
Publisher: Capricornica Publications
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU