book cover of Roller Girl
Added by 1 of our members

Roller Girl

(2015)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
Newbery Medal Best Novel (nominee)
The Newbery Honor Award winner and New York Times best seller Roller Girl is a heartwarming tale about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby - perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile!

For most of her 12 years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship.

As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high!) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school...in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut - now adapted for audio - that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverance, and girl power!

Performed by Almarie Guerra, with Jesse Bernstein, Ron Butler, Abigail Caro, Robbie Daymond, Giordan Diaz, Em Eldridge, Christopher Gebauer, Kelly Gildea, Kim Mai Guest, Kirby Heyborne, Hillary Huber, Rachel Jacobs, Sarah Jaffe, Linda Korn, Jorjeana Marie, Kathleen McInerney, Alex McKenna, Cassandra Morris, P.J. Ochlan, Adenrele Ojo, Georgette Perna, Kate Reinders, Tara Sands, Monika Felice Smith, Bahni Turpin,and Julianna Wilson.

Genre: Children's Fiction

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Smile
(Smile, book 1)
Raina Telgemeier

Used availability for Victoria Jamieson's Roller Girl

Hardback Editions

March 2015 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Roller Girl
Author(s): Victoria Jamieson
ISBN: 0-525-42967-0 / 978-0-525-42967-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dial Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2015 : USA Library Binding

Title: Roller Girl
Author(s): Victoria Jamieson
ISBN: 1-62765-759-2 / 978-1-62765-759-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Perfection Learning
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2015 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Roller Girl (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)
Author(s): Victoria Jamieson
ISBN: 0-606-37112-5 / 978-0-606-37112-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Turtleback Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

June 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Roller Girl
Author(s): Victoria Jamieson
ISBN: 0-14-137899-9 / 978-0-14-137899-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Puffin
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2015 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Roller Girl
Author(s): Victoria Jamieson
ISBN: 0-8037-4016-6 / 978-0-8037-4016-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dial Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

January 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Roller Girl
Author(s): Victoria Jamieson
ISBN: 1-984882-33-3 / 978-1-984882-33-2
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Roller Girl
Author(s): Victoria Jamieson
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon   


January 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Roller Girl
Author(s): Victoria Jamieson
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

June 2017 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Roller Girl
Author(s): Victoria Jamieson
Publisher: Puffin
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2015 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Roller Girl
Author(s): Victoria Jamieson
Publisher: Dial Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA