book cover of The Crooked House
Added by 8 of our members

The Crooked House

(2015)
A novel by

 
 
One fateful night. One unthinkable family tragedy. One survivor. This is Alison's story.

Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Apple Tree Yard, this stunning psychological thriller from the author of The Loving Husband follows one woman's search for the truth about her family history.

Alison is as close to anonymous as she can get: with no ties and a backroom job, hers is a life lived under the radar. But once Alison was someone else: once she was Esme, a teenager whose bedroom sat at the top of a remote house on a bleak estuary. A girl whose family, if not happy, exactly, was no unhappier than anyone else's - or so she thought.

Then one night violence was unleashed in the crooked house, in a nightmare that only Alison survived and from which she's been running ever since. Only when she falls for the charismatic Paul does Alison realise that to have any chance of happiness, she must return to her old life and face a closed community full of dark secrets.

As she seeks to uncover the truth of what happened that terrible night, Alison begins to question everything she thought she knew. Is there anyone she can trust?

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Find Them Dead
(Roy Grace, book 16)
Peter James
thumb
Dreams of Fear
(David Vogel Mystery, book 3)
Hilary Bonner

Used availability for Christobel Kent's The Crooked House

Hardback Editions

April 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Crooked House (Thorndike Press Large Print Thriller)
Author(s): Christobel Kent
ISBN: 1-4104-8810-1 / 978-1-4104-8810-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Crooked House: A Novel
Author(s): Christobel Kent
ISBN: 0-374-13182-1 / 978-0-374-13182-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Sarah Crichton Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2016 : UK Hardback

Title: The Crooked House
Author(s): Christobel Kent
ISBN: 1-4448-2669-7 / 978-1-4448-2669-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ulverscroft Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2015 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Crooked House
Author(s): Christobel Kent
ISBN: 0-7515-5750-1 / 978-0-7515-5750-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Crooked House: A Novel
Author(s): Christobel Kent
ISBN: 1-250-11790-9 / 978-1-250-11790-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Crooked House
Author(s): Christobel Kent
ISBN: 0-7515-5699-8 / 978-0-7515-5699-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Crooked House
Author(s): Christobel Kent
ISBN: 0-7515-5697-1 / 978-0-7515-5697-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

January 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Crooked House: A Novel
Author(s): Christobel Kent
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2015 : UK Audio CD

Title: The Crooked House
Author(s): Christobel Kent
ISBN: 1-78433-366-2 / 978-1-78433-366-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


June 2015 : UK Audio CD

Title: The Crooked House
Author(s): Christobel Kent
ISBN: 1-78433-401-4 / 978-1-78433-401-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


April 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Crooked House
Author(s): Christobel Kent
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon   


April 2015 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Crooked House
Author(s): Christobel Kent
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2015 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Crooked House
Author(s): Christobel Kent
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2015 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Crooked House
Author(s): Christobel Kent
Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2016 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Crooked House: A Novel
Author(s): Christobel Kent
Publisher: Sarah Crichton Books
Availability: Amazon   


January 2015 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Crooked House
Author(s): Christobel Kent
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2015 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Crooked House
Author(s): Christobel Kent
Publisher: Sphere
Availability: Amazon CA