Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly's You Go First is an engaging exploration of family, bullying, spelling, art, and the ever-complicated world of middle school friendships. Her perfectly pitched tween voice will resonate with fans of Kate DiCamillo's Raymie Nightingale.

Twelve-year-old Charlotte Lockard and 11-year-old Ben Boxer are separated by more than a thousand miles. On the surface, their lives seem vastly different - Charlotte lives near Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, while Ben is in the small town of Lanester, Louisiana. Charlotte wants to be a geologist and keeps a rock collection in her room. Ben is obsessed with Harry Potter, presidential history, and recycling. But the two have more in common than they think. They're both highly gifted. They're both experiencing family turmoil. And they both sit alone at lunch.

Over the course of a week, Charlotte and Ben - online friends connected only by a Scrabble game - will intersect in unexpected ways, as they struggle to navigate the turmoil of middle school. This engaging story about growing up and finding your place in the world by the winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature will appeal to fans of Rebecca Stead and Rita Williams-Garcia.

Genre: Children's Fiction

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Erin Entrada Kelly's You Go First

Hardback Editions

March 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: You Go First
Author(s): Erin Entrada Kelly
ISBN: 0-06-241418-6 / 978-0-06-241418-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: You Go First
Author(s): Erin Entrada Kelly
ISBN: 0-06-241419-4 / 978-0-06-241419-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: You Go First
Author(s): Erin Entrada Kelly
ISBN: 1-5385-0185-6 / 978-1-5385-0185-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: You Go First Lib/E
Author(s): Erin Entrada Kelly
ISBN: 1-5385-0183-X / 978-1-5385-0183-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2018 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: You Go First
Author(s): Erin Entrada Kelly
ISBN: 1-5385-0184-8 / 978-1-5385-0184-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: You Go First
Author(s): Erin Entrada Kelly
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: You Go First
Author(s): Erin Entrada Kelly
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: You Go First
Author(s): Erin Entrada Kelly
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: You Go First
Author(s): Erin Entrada Kelly
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU