Jan Kjaerstad's picture
2 books added

Jan Kjærstad

Norway (b.1953)

Jan Kjærstad is a Norwegian author. Kjærstad is a theology graduate from MF Norwegian School of Theology and the University of Oslo.
He has written a string of novels, short stories and essays and was editor of the literary magazine Vinduet ("The Window"). He has received a number of prizes, the most important being the Nordic Council Literature Prize, which he received for the perspectivist trilogy about the TV personality Jonas Wergeland (The Seducer, The Conqueror and The Discoverer).
Kjærstad's books are complex and humorous, showing an outstanding ability to visualize modern life and its many interdependencies, reminiscent of a less computer-focused Neal Stephenson. His books have been translated to English, French, German, Danish, Swedish, and Hungarian, among others.

Jonas Wergeland
   1. The Seducer (2003)
   2. The Conqueror (2006)
   3. The Discoverer (2009)
   Forforeren (1978)
   Berge (2019)
no image availablethumb
Anthologies edited
   The Norwegian Feeling for Real (2005) (with Harald Bache-Wiig and Birgit Bjerck)
Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors