book cover of Double Feature
Added by 4 of our members

Double Feature

(2013)
A novel by

 
 
An epic debut novel about a young man coming to terms with his life in the process and aftermath of making his first film - from critically acclaimed short story writer Owen King - for readers of Joshua Ferris, Sam Lipsyte, and Chad Harbach.

Filmmaker Sam Dolan has a difficult relationship with his father, B-movie actor Booth Dolan - a boisterous, opinionated, lying lothario whose screen legacy falls somewhere between cult hero and pathetic. Allie, Sam's dearly departed mother, was a woman whose only fault, in Sam's eyes, was her eternal affection for his father. Also included in the cast of indelible characters: a precocious, frequently violent half-sister; a conspiracy-theorist second wife; an Internet-famous roommate; a family friend and contractor who can't stop expanding his house; a happy-go-lucky college girlfriend and her husband, a retired Yankees catcher; the morose producer of a true crime show; and a slouching indie film legend. Not to mention a tragic sex monster. Unraveling the tumultuous, decades-spanning story of the Booth family's friends, lovers, and adversaries, Double Feature is about letting go of everything - regret, resentment, ambition, dignity, moving pictures, the dead - and taking it again from the top. Combining propulsive storytelling and mordant wit against the backdrop of indie filmmaking, Double Feature brims with a deep understanding of the trials of ambition and art, of relationships and life, and of our attempts to survive it all.


Genre: General Fiction

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Owen King's Double Feature

Hardback Editions

March 2013 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Double Feature: A Novel
Author(s): Owen King
ISBN: 1-4516-7689-1 / 978-1-4516-7689-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Scribner
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

June 2014 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Double Feature: A Novel
Author(s): Owen King
ISBN: 1-4516-7690-5 / 978-1-4516-7690-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Scribner
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2013 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Double Feature: A Novel
Author(s): Owen King
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


March 2013 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Double Feature: A Novel
Author(s): Owen King
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

March 2013 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Double Feature: A Novel
Author(s): Owen King
Publisher: Scribner
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA