book cover of Double Feature

Double Feature

(2013)
A novel by

 
 
An epic debut novel about a young man coming to terms with his life in the process and aftermath of making his first film - from critically acclaimed short story writer Owen King - for readers of Joshua Ferris, Sam Lipsyte, and Chad Harbach.

Filmmaker Sam Dolan has a difficult relationship with his father, B-movie actor Booth Dolan - a boisterous, opinionated, lying lothario whose screen legacy falls somewhere between cult hero and pathetic. Allie, Sam's dearly departed mother, was a woman whose only fault, in Sam's eyes, was her eternal affection for his father. Also included in the cast of indelible characters: a precocious, frequently violent half-sister; a conspiracy-theorist second wife; an Internet-famous roommate; a family friend and contractor who can't stop expanding his house; a happy-go-lucky college girlfriend and her husband, a retired Yankees catcher; the morose producer of a true crime show; and a slouching indie film legend. Not to mention a tragic sex monster. Unraveling the tumultuous, decades-spanning story of the Booth family's friends, lovers, and adversaries, Double Feature is about letting go of everything - regret, resentment, ambition, dignity, moving pictures, the dead - and taking it again from the top. Combining propulsive storytelling and mordant wit against the backdrop of indie filmmaking, Double Feature brims with a deep understanding of the trials of ambition and art, of relationships and life, and of our attempts to survive it all.



Get it on Google Play

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Owen King's Double Feature

Hardback Editions

2014 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Double Feature Signed Limited Edition
Author(s): Owen King
ISBN: 1-934267-43-0 / 978-1-934267-43-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Gauntlet Press
Availability: Amazon   


March 2013 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Double Feature: A Novel
Author(s): Owen King
ISBN: 1-4516-7689-1 / 978-1-4516-7689-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Scribner
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

June 2014 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Double Feature: A Novel
Author(s): Owen King
ISBN: 1-4516-7690-5 / 978-1-4516-7690-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Scribner
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2013 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Double Feature: A Novel
Author(s): Owen King
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


March 2013 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Double Feature: A Novel
Author(s): Owen King
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

March 2013 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Double Feature: A Novel
Author(s): Owen King
Publisher: Scribner
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA