book cover of Deep Dark Blue
Added by 4 members
 

Deep Dark Blue

(2023)
(The first book in the Rosa Zambrano series)
A novel by

 
 
An expertly plotted and atmospheric international bestseller set on Lake Zurich.

The first in a new series starring the intelligent and warm-hearted investigator Rosa Zambrano for fans of Ann Cleaves and Sarah Pearse.

Lake Zurich is Rosa Zambrano's beat. Once a detective with the CID, she's traded in serious crimes for the serenity of the water, patrolling it daily as the first female officer in Zurich's maritime police force. But when the body of Dr Jansen, a renowned fertility doctor and successful biotech entrepreneur, is dredged up in a fisherman's nets, Rosa must call on her old training to solve his murder.


This case hits close to home for Rosa - she's a patient of Jansen's, and had her eggs frozen at his clinic only days before he was killed. Her investigation leads her from opulent villas on Lake Zurich's shores to genetic research labs and a thriving escort service on the outskirts of the city - and to four women, each of whom in their own way have rejected the hand they have been dealt by biology or fate.

________________

'This is not a conventional police procedural. Seraina Kobler is, though, clearly following in the wake of Donna Leon… A highly intriguing debut' Crime Book of the Month, The Times

'Set in the beautiful city of Zurich and full of glorious descriptions of well-cooked and thoughtfully presented food,
Deep Dark Blue deals with the subject of genetic manipulation…
Quietly shocking and full of intriguing information, this novel shows how much more there is to Zurich than secretive bankers'
Literary Review

'Seraina Kobler is a Swiss novelist with an unusual heroine… takes us to the cutting edge… Kobler combines a surprising plot with descriptions of what her characters cook during pauses in the investigation' The Sunday Times

'Elegantly written and featuring a warm and interesting woman as an investigator and unfamiliar but lovely city brought to vivid life, Deep Dark Blue is highly recommended'Irish Independent



Genre: Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Seraina Kobler's Deep Dark Blue


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors