book cover of Swimming for Sunlight

Swimming for Sunlight

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
When recently divorced Katie Ellis and her rescue dog Bark move back in with Katie's grandmother in Florida, she becomes swept up in a reunion of her grandmother's troupe of underwater performers - finding hope and renewal in unexpected places, in this sweet novel perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Claire Cook.

Aspiring costume designer Katie gave up everything in her divorce to gain custody of her fearful, faithful rescue dog, Barkimedes. While she figures out what to do next, she heads back to Florida to live with her grandmother, Nan.

But Katie quickly learns there's a lot she doesn't know about Nan - like the fact that in her youth Nan was a mermaid performer in a roadside attraction show, swimming and dancing underwater with a close-knit cast of talented women. Although most of the mermaids have since lost touch, Katie helps Nan search for her old friends on Facebook, sparking hopes for a reunion show. Katie is up for making some fabulous costumes, but first, she has to contend with her crippling fear of water.

As Katie's college love Luca, a documentary filmmaker, enters the fray, Katie struggles to balance her hopes with her anxiety, and begins to realize just how much Bark's fears are connected to her own, in this thoughtful, charming novel about hope after loss and friendships that span generations.

Genre: General Fiction

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Allie Larkin's Swimming for Sunlight

Hardback Editions

September 2019 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Swimming for Sunlight (Thorndike Press Large Print Women's Fiction)
Author(s): Allie Larkin
ISBN: 1-4328-6787-3 / 978-1-4328-6787-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : Hardback
thumb

Title: Swimming for Sunlight
Author(s): Allie Larkin
ISBN: 1-982112-13-1 / 978-1-982112-13-4
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Swimming for Sunlight: A Novel
Author(s): Allie Larkin
ISBN: 1-5011-9848-3 / 978-1-5011-9848-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Swimming for Sunlight
Author(s): Allie Larkin
ISBN: 1-5082-7874-1 / 978-1-5082-7874-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Swimming for Sunlight
Author(s): Allie Larkin
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Swimming for Sunlight
Author(s): Allie Larkin
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

April 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Swimming for Sunlight: A Novel
Author(s): Allie Larkin
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA