book cover of Let the Monster Out
Added by 2 of our members
 

Let the Monster Out

(2022)
A novel by

 
 
An equal parts heart-pounding and heartfelt middle-grade mystery about facing––and accepting––your fears, perfect for fans of Stranger Things and The Parker InheritanceBones Malone feels like he can’t do anything right in his new small town: He almost punched the son of the woman who babysits him and his brothers, he’s one of the only Black kids in Langille, and now his baseball team (the one place where he really feels like he shines) just lost their first game. To make matters worse, things in town are getting weird. His mom isn’t acting like herself at all—she’s totally spaced out, almost like a zombie. And then he and his brothers have the same dream—one where they’re running from some of their deepest fears, like a bear and an eerie cracked mirror that Bones would rather soon forget.

Kyle Specks feels like he can never say the right thing at the right time. He thinks he might be neurodivergent, but he hasn’t gotten an official diagnosis yet. His parents worry that the world might be too hard for him and try to protect him, but Kyle knows they can’t do that forever. Even though he’s scared, he can’t just stand by and do nothing while things in this town get stranger and stranger, especially not after he and Bones find a mysterious scientist’s journal that might hold answers about what’s going on.

But when faced with seemingly impossible situations, a shady corporation, and their own worst nightmares, will Kyle and Bones be brave enough to admit they're scared? Or will the fear totally consume and control them?




Genre: Children's Fiction

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Chad Lucas's Let the Monster Out

Hardback Editions

May 2022 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Let the Monster Out
Author(s): Chad Lucas
ISBN: 1-4197-5126-3 / 978-1-4197-5126-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harry N. Abrams
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

May 2022 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Let the Monster Out
Author(s): Chad Lucas
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


May 2022 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Let the Monster Out
Author(s): Chad Lucas
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2022 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Let the Monster Out
Author(s): Chad Lucas
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2022 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Let the Monster Out
Author(s): Chad Lucas
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

May 2022 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Let the Monster Out
Author(s): Chad Lucas
Publisher: Amulet Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU