book cover of City of Buried Ghosts

City of Buried Ghosts

(2016)
(The second book in the Elisenda Domenech series)
A novel by

 
 

Be careful what you dig up...

The atmospheric second crime thriller featuring Catalan detective Elisenda Domenech, for readers of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves

Still recovering from the tragedy that hit her team, Elisenda takes on a new case. Except it's not new. On an archaeological dig by the coast a body is uncovered, seemingly executed with a spike thrust through the front of the skull - an ancient tribal ritual. It soon becomes clear that this body is neither ancient nor modern, but a mysterious corpse from the 1980s.

Assigned to the case along with her team, Elisenda soon uncovers a complex world of star archaeologists, jealousy and missing persons. They find a dark trade in illicit antiquities, riddled with vicious professional rivalries. And even though she's staying close to the crime scene, Elisenda is also never far from enemies of her own within the police force.

Just as the case seems to become clear it is blown wide-open by another horrific murder. Elisenda must fight her personal demons and office politics, whilst continuing to uncover plots and hatreds that were long buried. How far will she go to solve the crime? Is her place in the force secure? And can she rebuild her life?

In City of Buried Ghosts Chris Lloyd has written an utterly gripping crime story set in one of the most stunning parts of Europe. With its extraordinary heroine and unputdownable investigation, it is the perfect crime thriller for this summer.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Messandrierre
(Jacques Foret Mystery, book 1)
Angela Wren
thumb
Impure Blood
(Captain Darac, book 1)
Peter Morfoot
thumb
Fatal Music
(Captain Darac, book 2)
Peter Morfoot

Used availability for Chris Lloyd's City of Buried Ghosts

Paperback Editions

October 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: City of Buried Ghosts (Catalan Crime Thrillers)
Author(s): Chris Lloyd
ISBN: 1-78863-557-4 / 978-1-78863-557-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Canelo
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

May 2016 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: City of Buried Ghosts (Catalan Crime Thrillers Book 2)
Author(s): Chris Lloyd
Publisher: Canelo
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU