book cover of The Curse of Barney Thomson
Added by 1 of our members

The Curse of Barney Thomson

(A book in the Barney Thomson series)
A collection of stories by

"an eccentric, blisteringly satirical voice..." SUNDAY EXPRESS

THE LONG MIDNIGHT OF BARNEY THOMSON, the first book in Douglas Lindsay’s iconic black comedy barbershop series, appeared in February 1999. Since then there have been seven further novels and three novellas. The first seven novels are available in the omnibus, THE BARBERSHOP SEVEN.

This short volume, THE CURSE OF BARNEY THOMSON, is a curate’s egg of short stories and random scenes that ultimately found themselves on the barbershop floor.

Contains 5 short stories:

The Curse of Barney Thomson
The Ballad of Rusty Brown
The Adventure of the Marble Tibetan Head


The heavy mood had somehow infected the shop. A few newspapers were strewn around, but no one was very interested in them. Barney regularly bought a couple of morning papers for customers to read, more often on the days when he hoped they would immerse themselves in the day’s news and gossip rather than engage in conversation. The more papers, the greater the choice, the less likely it was that he’d have to talk to people he didn’t know or people he’d come to know but with whom he did not really feel like engaging.
He had purchased five newspapers that morning, such was his mood, such was his desire not to be spoken to.
It wasn’t working.
Ex-Man U Star Ate My Testicles! screamed the Sun; Diana’s Ghost Tells Charles He’s A Dick claimed the Express; Most Foreigners Not Even British said the Mail; The Guardian led with It Turns Out Spying Is In GCHQ’s Job Description, Guardian To Apologise; the Scotsman had gone for First Minister To Push For Derby In New Spring Offensive...

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors

Used availability for Douglas Lindsay's The Curse of Barney Thomson

Kindle Editions

January 2014 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: The Curse of Barney Thomson & Other Stories (Barney Thomson Shorts #4)
Author(s): Douglas Lindsay
Publisher: Long Midnight Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU