book cover of Pieces of Death

Pieces of Death

(The third book in the Peter Bragg Mystery series)
A novel by


The Shamus Award-nominated, action-packed third thriller in the Bragg series of private eye novels that propelled author Jack Lynch into the league of detective fiction legends alongside Sue Grafton, Raymond Chandler, Robert B. Parker, Dashiell Hammett, and Ross MacDonald.

"Bragg is authentic, gripping, gritty." San Francisco Examiner

Peter Bragg goes to San Francisco International Airport to protect a man arriving with a valuable package and ends up in a brutal gun battle with two ruthless and brazen assassins. When the smoke clears, the traveler is a corpse and his package has disappeared... Bragg doesn't have it and neither do the killers. Bragg becomes the hunter and the hunted as killers descend on the city to find thirty-two gem-encrusted chess pieces smuggled out of China that are worth a staggering fortune... one somebody is willing to step over a pile of bodies to have for himself... if he can get past Bragg first.

"This is a first-rate series. Bragg is a restrained and believable hero. The action scenes are excellent." 101 Knights: A Survey of American Detective Fiction

"The books are damn good, featuring a hard but believable hero," The Thrilling Detective

Used availability for Jack Lynch's Pieces of Death

Paperback Editions

July 2014 : USA Paperback

Title: Pieces of Death: A Bragg Thriller (Bragg Thriller Series)
Author(s): Jack Lynch
ISBN: 1-941298-31-1 / 978-1-941298-31-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brash Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

May 1982 : USA Mass Market Paperback

Title: Bragg: Pieces of Death
Author(s): Jack Lynch
ISBN: 0-449-14473-9 / 978-0-449-14473-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Fawcett Gold Medal Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA