book cover of San Quentin

San Quentin

(Speak for the Dead)
(The fifth book in the Peter Bragg Mystery series)
A novel by

Desperate men with nothing to lose make one last demand. Get Peter Bragg.


The Shamus Award-nominated fifth novel in Jack Lynch's Edgar-Award-nominated series of detective novels.

An escape attempt at San Quentin goes to hell, a guard is beaten into a coma, and the hard-core convicts retreat to a corner of the prison with their hostages, including two civilian women. It's a deadly stand-off... a bloody powder-keg ready to explode into a full-scale massacre. The cornered, desperate prisoners have one demand: they want private eye Peter Bragg to clear the ringleader's teenage brother of a murder charge in a small, northern California town. It's a high-stakes case with a brutal ticking clock, and it pits Bragg against cops, neo-Nazis and powerful enemies who would like to see him, the convicts, and the hostages all go down in a hail of flames and gunfire that would keep their secrets from ever being revealed.

"Bragg is authentic, gripping, gritty... what Lynch sells is well-written escape... slam-bang mystery that's fun to read" San Francisco Examiner

"This is a first-rate series," 101 Knights: A Survey of American Detective Fiction

"The books are damn good, featuring a hard but believable hero," The Thrilling Detective

(Originally published under the title "San Quentin")

Genre: Mystery

Used availability for Jack Lynch's San Quentin

Paperback Editions

July 2014 : USA Paperback

Title: Speak for the Dead: A Bragg Thriller (Bragg Thriller Series)
Author(s): Jack Lynch
ISBN: 1-941298-35-4 / 978-1-941298-35-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brash Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

October 1984 : USA Paperback

Title: San Quentin
Author(s): Jack Lynch
ISBN: 0-446-32085-4 / 978-0-446-32085-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Grand Central Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA