book cover of Drifting House

Drifting House

(2012)
A collection of stories by

 
 
An unflinching portrayal of the Korean immigrant experience from an extraordinary new talent in fiction.

Spanning Korea and the United States, from the postwar era to contemporary times, Krys Lee's stunning fiction debut, Drifting House, illuminates a people torn between the traumas of their collective past and the indignities and sorrows of their present.

In the title story, children escaping famine in North Korea are forced to make unthinkable sacrifices to survive. The tales set in America reveal the immigrants' unmoored existence, playing out in cramped apartments and Koreatown strip malls. A makeshift family is fractured when a shaman from the old country moves in next door. An abandoned wife enters into a fake marriage in order to find her kidnapped daughter.

In the tradition of Chang-rae Lee's Native Speaker and Jhumpa Lahiri's Interpreter of Maladies, Drifting House is an unforgettable work by a gifted new writer.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"What wonderful and haunting worlds Krys Lee illuminates... a Korea and a Korean America made new by this exciting writer's entrancing visions." - Janice Y K Lee


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Krys Lee's Drifting House

Hardback Editions

May 2012 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Drifting House (Thorndike Press Large Rint Reviewers' Choice)
Author(s): Krys Lee
ISBN: 1-4104-4784-7 / 978-1-4104-4784-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2012 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Drifting House
Author(s): Krys Lee
ISBN: 0-670-02325-6 / 978-0-670-02325-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Viking
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

December 2012 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Drifting House
Author(s): Krys Lee
ISBN: 0-14-312293-2 / 978-0-14-312293-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin Group
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2012 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Drifting House
Author(s): Krys Lee
ISBN: 0-571-27620-2 / 978-0-571-27620-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2012 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Drifting House
Author(s): Krys Lee
ISBN: 0-571-27618-0 / 978-0-571-27618-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

February 2012 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Drifting House
Author(s): Krys Lee
Publisher: Penguin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


January 2012 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Drifting House
Author(s): Krys Lee
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU