book cover of Pachinko

Pachinko

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
National Book Award for Fiction Best Book (nominee)
A new tour de force from the best-selling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for fans of A Fine Balance and Cutting for Stone.

Profoundly moving and gracefully told, Pachinko follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them. Betrayed by her wealthy lover, Sunja finds unexpected salvation when a young tubercular minister offers to marry her and bring her to Japan to start a new life.

So begins a sweeping saga of exceptional people in exile from a homeland they never knew and caught in the indifferent arc of history. In Japan, Sunja's family members endure harsh discrimination, catastrophes, and poverty, yet they also encounter great joy as they pursue their passions and rise to meet the challenges this new home presents. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, they are bound together by deep roots as their family faces enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.

Genre: Literary Fiction    

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Autumn
(Seasonal, book 1)
Ali Smith

Used availability for Min Jin Lee's Pachinko

Hardback Editions

February 2017 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Pachinko
Author(s): Min Jin Lee
ISBN: 1-78669-135-3 / 978-1-78669-135-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Apollo
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


February 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist)
Author(s): Min Jin Lee
ISBN: 1-4555-6393-5 / 978-1-4555-6393-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist)
Author(s): Min Jin Lee
ISBN: 1-4555-6949-6 / 978-1-4555-6949-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

November 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist)
Author(s): Min Jin Lee
ISBN: 1-4555-6392-7 / 978-1-4555-6392-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Pachinko
Author(s): Min Jin Lee
ISBN: 1-78669-137-X / 978-1-78669-137-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Apollo
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Pachinko
Author(s): Min Jin Lee
ISBN: 1-78669-136-1 / 978-1-78669-136-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Apollo
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

February 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist)
Author(s): Min Jin Lee
ISBN: 1-4789-6743-9 / 978-1-4789-6743-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2017 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Pachinko: Library Edition
Author(s): Min Jin Lee
ISBN: 1-4789-4548-6 / 978-1-4789-4548-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Pachinko
Author(s): Min Jin Lee
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon   


February 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Pachinko
Author(s): Min Jin Lee
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

February 2017 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Pachinko
Author(s): Min Jin Lee
Publisher: Apollo
Availability: Amazon UK   


February 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist)
Author(s): Min Jin Lee
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA