book cover of The Five Horseshoes

The Five Horseshoes

(2016)
(The first book in the Animal Man series)
A Novella by

 
 
Nothing much happens in sleepy Nether Snuffingham - most of the time ...

Spirits at the village pub are sagging. Trade is slow, and harassed landlord Horace and his gorgon wife Glad fear their dream of a package holiday in Spain may never come true. In the early Sixties what passes for excitement in Nether Snuffingham is the twice-a-year livestock market behind the pub - and Glad posing as Boudicca for the Women's Institute calendar.

Local reporter Des Crow is scratching round for stories too, so they concoct a stunt aimed at grabbing headlines and boosting trade. But they get more than they bargained for when the cricket-fan vicar, Alf the village bobby, and old Frank the poacher become involved.

The Five Horseshoes is a wry and light-hearted novella featuring off-beat characters and eccentricities of village life that readers will meet again in the The Animal Man, first of David McDine's new trilogy.

It is sure to appeal to fans of Tom Sharpe, Alan Sillitoe and Gerald Durrell alike.

Praise for The Five Horseshoes:



'Laugh out loud funny! McDine has quite a way with words ... his descriptions of rural 1960s life had me in fits.' - Cressida Schofield

' ... very enjoyable and amusing - nearly missed my station I was so engrossed.' - D W Harrington


David McDine is a former journalist and member of the Government Information Service and lives with his wife Sue on a Kent smallholding where over the years they have kept children, horses, sheep, rabbits, chickens, dogs, cats and fish - but, as yet, no giraffes or kangaroos. He has written acclaimed naval fiction and The Animal Man series is his first venture into humorous fiction.

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
A Fearsome Doubt
(Ian Rutledge, book 6)
Charles Todd
thumb
The Love Detectives
(Quin and Satterthwaite)
Agatha Christie
thumb
The Regiment
(Regiment Trilogy, book 1)
Christopher Nicole

Used availability for David McDine's The Five Horseshoes

Kindle Editions

January 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Five Horseshoes (Animal Man Book 1)
Author(s): David McDine
Publisher: Endeavour Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU