book cover of A Body at the Tea Rooms
Added by 24 members
 

A Body at the Tea Rooms

(2021)
(The third book in the Kate Palmer series)
A novel by

 
 
Meet Kate Palmer! A semi-retired nurse with a sweet tooth for cake and a talent for solving crimes.

Kate Palmer is most disappointed when renovations at her sister Angie’s new tea rooms are derailed after a body is discovered in the cellar. She was looking forward to clotted cream teas with a seaside view. Instead she has another murder mystery to solve…

If the village gossip is to be believed, the unfortunate man was connected to the wealthy Hedgefield family. Kate is reluctant to get caught up in the investigation but a curious card in the victim’s jacket pocket sparks her interest. Not to mention the ridiculous rumour Angie is somehow involved! Keen to clear her sister’s name so she can finally eat cake in the charming tea rooms, Kate teams up with handsome retired Detective ‘Woody’ Forrest to untangle the baffling case.

After quizzing the locals over copious cups of tea, Kate begins to realise the Hedgefields, who live in a grand mansion and own half the village, are not as perfect as they make out. They’re hiding a long-buried family secret and plenty of people have a grudge against them, including a number of their ex-employees.

But who could have murdered a member of Lower Tinworthy’s most enviable family? Was it the old gardener? The seemingly sweet cook? Or the bitter maid?

Just as she inches closer to the truth, Angie goes missing. Does amateur sleuth Kate have what it takes to get to the bottom of this extraordinary puzzle and save her sister at the same time?

If you love murder mysteries with a brilliant cast of characters, twisty plots and plenty of cake, A Body at the Tea Rooms will have you hooked until the very last page! Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Faith Martin and Joy Ellis.

Why readers love the Kate Palmer mystery series:


Fantastic murder mystery, a charming whodunit, really, with lots of red-herrings to keep you guessing until the last page!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Brilliant mysteryI found myself racing through this one, eager to find out who did what – and to who! A terrific read.’ Grace J Reviewer Lady, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A superb cosy mystery… It's simply the perfect booka fun, fast-paced, easy read.’ Readers Retreat, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Such a fun fast paced book, I devoured it in two sittings, I didn’t want to put it down!... I can’t wait to read more!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

CharmingWhat a perfect read with some teaI gobbled it up in a day and evening!!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

One of my fav authorsa satisfying whodunit and I really didn’t have a clue as all the suspects had motive and reason but the killer when unmasked was a surprise. 10/10.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Full of superb village characters… LOL humour and a good storyline, this book had me “there and part of it” right from page 1 and I loved every word, just the right book for unsettled times when you can relax and be drawn into pure escapism.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Dee MacDonald's A Body at the Tea Rooms


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors