book cover of The Quiet Rebel

The Quiet Rebel

(1970)
A novel by

 
 


Yorkshire, 1914.

Clara Howdale lives a subservient life underneath her father, a rich and stubborn man who wants to marry her off to the highest bidder.

But Clara has a mind of her own, and the way her father treats his employees is slowly starting to change the way she thinks.

Finding kinship with a suffragette, Clara's eyes are opened, and she sets her sights on overthrowing her father's outdated way of life and living exactly how she wants.

Achieving her goal is hard, especially when she must protect her sister from a step-mother who isn't shy of making her feelings heard.

Things become even more complicated when she meets Stephen Cullen, an older, mysterious man who sets her heart aflutter. With the coming war and the battle for women's rights, will Clara ever be able to be truly free?

The Quiet Rebel is an unputdownable tale of women's rights, complicated romance, and uplifting change, all set against a backdrop of pre-war Yorkshire. This coming-of-age story is perfect for fans of Elizabeth Harris, Tracy Rees, and shows like Downton Abbey.

Desiree Meyler was born into a Pembrokeshire family in west Wales. Whilst studying at the School of Art, Cambridge, alongside fellow student Ronald Searle in the late 1930s, she decided to change direction and became a prolific short story writer following the outbreak of War. Her first novel, The Quiet Rebel was published in 1970.

Genre: Historical Romance

Used availability for Desiree Meyler's The Quiet Rebel

Hardback Editions

March 1970 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Quiet Rebel
Author(s): Desiree Meyler
ISBN: 0-09-101160-4 / 978-0-09-101160-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hurst & B.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


Paperback Editions

October 2017 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Quiet Rebel: A moving historical romance of family and worldly drama
Author(s): Desiree Meyler
ISBN: 1-973163-68-3 / 978-1-973163-68-8
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU