book cover of The Abolitionist\'s Daughter
Added by 5 of our members
 

The Abolitionist's Daughter

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
In her sweeping debut, Diane C. McPhail offers a powerful, profoundly emotional novel that explores a little-known aspect of Civil War history—Southern Abolitionists—and the timeless struggle to do right even amidst bitter conflict.
 
On a Mississippi morning in 1859, Emily Matthews begs her father to save a slave, Nathan, about to be auctioned away from his family. Judge Matthews is an abolitionist who runs an illegal school for his slaves, hoping to eventually set them free. One, a woman named Ginny, has become Emily’s companion and often her conscience—and understands all too well the hazards an educated slave must face. Yet even Ginny could not predict the tangled, tragic string of events set in motion as Nathan’s family arrives at the Matthews farm.
 
A young doctor, Charles Slate, tends to injured Nathan and begins to court Emily, finally persuading her to become his wife. But their union is disrupted by a fatal clash and a lie that will tear two families apart. As Civil War erupts, Emily, Ginny, and Emily’s stoic mother-in-law, Adeline, each face devastating losses. Emily—sheltered all her life—is especially unprepared for the hardships to come. Struggling to survive in this raw, shifting new world, Emily will discover untapped inner strength, an unlikely love, and the courage to confront deep, painful truths.
 
In the tradition of Cold Mountain, The Abolitionist’s Daughter eschews stereotypes of the Civil War South, instead weaving an intricate and unforgettable story of survival, loyalty, hope, and redemption.

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Diane C McPhail's The Abolitionist's Daughter

Hardback Editions

June 2019 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Abolitionist's Daughter
Author(s): Diane C McPhail
ISBN: 1-64358-216-X / 978-1-64358-216-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Platinum Spotlight Series
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Abolitionist's Daughter
Author(s): Diane C McPhail
ISBN: 1-4967-2030-X / 978-1-4967-2030-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: A John Scognamiglio Book
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Abolitionist's Daughter
Author(s): Diane C McPhail
ISBN: 1-4967-2031-8 / 978-1-4967-2031-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: A John Scognamiglio Book
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Abolitionist's Daughter
Author(s): Diane C McPhail
ISBN: 1-66512-981-6 / 978-1-66512-981-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Highbridge Audio and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


March 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Abolitionist's Daughter
Author(s): Diane C McPhail
ISBN: 1-66512-982-4 / 978-1-66512-982-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Highbridge Audio and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Abolitionist's Daughter
Author(s): Diane C McPhail
ISBN: 1-68441-782-1 / 978-1-68441-782-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: HighBridge Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Abolitionist's Daughter
Author(s): Diane C McPhail
Publisher: HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Abolitionist's Daughter
Author(s): Diane C McPhail
Publisher: HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Abolitionist's Daughter
Author(s): Diane C McPhail
Publisher: HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Abolitionist's Daughter
Author(s): Diane C McPhail
Publisher: HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Abolitionist's Daughter
Author(s): Diane C McPhail
Publisher: A John Scognamiglio Book
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU