book cover of The Railway Detective
Added by 74 of our members

The Railway Detective

(2004)
(The first book in the Inspector Robert Colbeck series)
A novel by

 
 
The thrilling first case for the Railway Detective

London 1851. With the opening of the Great Exhibition at hand, interest is mounting in the engineering triumphs of the railways, but not everyone feels like celebrating…

In an audacious attack, the London to Birmingham mail train is robbed and derailed, causing many casualties. Planned with military precision, this crime proves a challenge to Detective Inspector Robert Colbeck who fights to untangle a web of murder, blackmail and destruction. As Colbeck closes in on the criminal masterminds, events take an unexpected turn when the beautiful Madeleine, daughter of the injured train driver, becomes a pawn in the criminals’ game. With time running out, good and evil, new and old, battle against each other. But will the long arm of the law have speed on its side?

Full of historical detail, The Railway Detective is an action-packed dip into murky 1850s London.

'A grand romp very much in the tradition of Holmes and Watson...packed with characters Dickens would have been proud of. Wonderful, well written.' Time Out

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Seeker
(Damian Seeker, book 1)
S G MacLean
thumb
Dying in the Wool
(Kate Shackleton, book 1)
Frances Brody
thumb
The Zig Zag Girl
(Stephens and Mephisto Mystery, book 1)
Elly Griffiths
thumb
A Plague On Both Your Houses
(Matthew Bartholomew, book 1)
Susanna Gregory

Used availability for Edward Marston's The Railway Detective

Hardback Editions

November 2004 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Railway Detective
Author(s): Edward Marston
ISBN: 0-7505-2236-4 / 978-0-7505-2236-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Magna Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2004 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Railway Detective (A & B Crime)
Author(s): Edward Marston
ISBN: 0-7490-0633-1 / 978-0-7490-0633-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Allison & Busby
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2016 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: The Railway Detective
Author(s): Edward Marston
ISBN: 1-4587-9444-X / 978-1-4587-9444-4 (Canada edition)
Publisher: ReadHowYouWant
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2005 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Railway Detective: The bestselling Victorian mystery series
Author(s): Edward Marston
ISBN: 0-7490-8352-2 / 978-0-7490-8352-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Allison & Busby
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

2005 : UK Audio Cassette

Title: The Railway Detective
Author(s): Edward Marston
ISBN: 1-84505-364-8 / 978-1-84505-364-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: RecordedBooks
Availability: Amazon   


Kindle Editions

July 2009 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Railway Detective: The bestselling Victorian mystery series (Railway Detective series Book 1)
Author(s): Edward Marston
Publisher: Allison & Busby
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU