book cover of The Land Is Bright
Added by 1 of our members

The Land Is Bright

(1989)
(The first book in the Liverpool Sagas series)
A novel by

 
 

The captivating first instalment of The Liverpool Sagas, perfect for fans of Lyn Andrews and Pam Howes

Life changes for the Palin children when Mam dies, and it's up to twelve-year-old Sally to try and take her place. Sally lavishes all her hopes and dreams on her baby sister Emily, determined that she'll leave the mean streets of their Liverpool home and enjoy a better life. When Emily is sent to live with rich relatives, it seems like her wish has come true, but the chance is bittersweet.

Sally and her family may face poverty and hardship in Liverpool, but the warmth and love shared will help them overcome whatever the world has to throw at them; Emily, however, wanting for nothing, might find out that happiness is harder to find...

Full of authentic details of Liverpool life at the turn of the century, The Land is Bright is a totally absorbing saga perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Helen Forrester.

'A family saga you just won't be able to put down' Prima

'The whole-heartedness of Liverpool shines through in a refreshing tribute to Merseyside' Liverpool Daily Post'

Murphy is born and bred, and sets her first novel in her beloved city, giving the book that vital authenticity which makes it so realistic' Hull Daily Mail

'Rich in authentic period details, The Land is Bright is a time machine back to the past. This is how history should be written!' Terrace Review

'Evocative writing' Woman's World

'Richly nostalgic' Publishing News

'A thundering great read' Liverpool Echo

The Liverpool Sagas

  1. The Land is Bright

    To Give and To Take

    There is a Season


Genre: Sagas

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Elizabeth Murphy's The Land Is Bright

Hardback Editions

December 1989 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Land is Bright
Author(s): Elizabeth Murphy
ISBN: 1-85057-763-3 / 978-1-85057-763-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Magna Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 1989 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Land is Bright
Author(s): Elizabeth Murphy
ISBN: 0-7472-0092-0 / 978-0-7472-0092-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


Paperback Editions

February 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Land is Bright (Liverpool Sagas)
Author(s): Elizabeth Murphy
ISBN: 1-78863-380-6 / 978-1-78863-380-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Canelo
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


December 1989 : UK Paperback

Title: Land is Bright
Author(s): Elizabeth Murphy
ISBN: 1-85057-764-1 / 978-1-85057-764-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Magna Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 1989 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Land is Bright
Author(s): Elizabeth Murphy
ISBN: 0-7472-3192-3 / 978-0-7472-3192-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

June 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Land is Bright (Liverpool Sagas Book 1)
Author(s): Elizabeth Murphy
Publisher: Canelo Saga
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU